CPU Advice

Associate
Hello everyone new to the forums here but a regular to overclockers.

I am currently in the process of building my own gaming system, it has been around 10+ years since i did any PC Builds / Upgrades and so I am looking for advice on a CPU, The Parts I am getting or have are as follows:
Motherboard; ASRock Z370 Extreme4 ATX (LGA1151)
RAM; Corsair vengance LPX DDR4-3000 (2x8gb)
Graphics Card; GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER
CPU; Intel Core i7 9700k 3.6GHz
Cooler: Coolermaster Masterliquid Lite 120
Storage; Western Digital M.2 2280 (250Gb)
Samsung 860 QVO 1TB SSD
Power Supply; Corsair TXM Gold 550w 80+ Semi Modular

I am using PC Part Picker for compatibility testing but the problem I am having is its saying my CPU is not compatible as the motherboard BIOS may need updating for Coffee Lake or Coffee Lake Refresh.

This is putting me off as i have no idea if this CPU will run in my build now, I am fairly new to this hole thing, can anyone tell me if it will be compatable or recommend a new CPU... Or any other parts from what ive listed.

Man of Honour
Hi and welcome to OCUK :)

You should really be looking for a Z390 motherboard which will work out of the box with the 9700K CPU, the Z370 is the previous generation and as you say may need a bios update?

Some boards can update the bios without anything installed, but most can't so you'd need a compatible CPU to perform the bios update before installing your 9700K, which can be more money and a right pain!

Soldato
I am looking for advice on a CPU

AMD ryzen is a good shout these days especially if you game at higher than 1080p but if your set on Intel then you should either get the 9900k/s or hold off a couple of months as Intel is releasing a new CPU and motherboard range that won't be backwards compatable but the whole range of CPUs will feature hyperthreading so the 10700k will have 8 core 16 threads as opposed to the 9700k which is only 8 core 8 thread.