CPU/RAM OC

Associate
Hello everyone! I'm trying to push my old system for more as I cannot afford a big upgrade yet. I am new to overclocking and although I have watched various tutorials over the internet I have bumped into some issues.

First, I have an asrock z77 as mobo so I have overcloking options enabled in bios. I have tried to overclock my i5 3750k to 4.2 ghz, but unfortunately every time my windows loads I get system errors and my PC crashes. I have lowered it to 4.0 ghz and it seems to work fine. I was wondering what the problem could be? I have seen that this particular CPU can go up to 4.4 ghz. I have a cooler master 212 RGB black and temperature is not an issue as my cpu at 4.0 ghz always keeps to 35 - 45 degrees on idle and 60 - 80 when gaming.

Second, I have 16GB of HyperX Fury 1866MHz. I wanted to overclock this to 2200 MHz, but everytime I try it my windows does not even load. I have seen suggestions that I have to pull the mobo battery out. I have took it out for half an hour and tried pushing the RAM to 2200 mhz but still the same issue. What am I doing wrong?

Also, do you think it is even worth to try to oc the RAM? I have seen contrasting opinions on this.

Thank you in advance!

Associate
OP
Hi, I left it on auto. What voltage should i put for 4.2 ghz?

I use cpuid to monitor and voltage plays between 1.1 - 1.321

Soldato
Set it to 1.3 and see how you get on, up to 1.35v should be fine but keep an eye on temps though as you don't want to be going much above 80c.

Maybe take the cooler off and re-paste if this hasn't been done in a few years.

Associate
OP
Set it to 1.3 and see how you get on, up to 1.35v should be fine but keep an eye on temps though as you don't want to be going much above 80c.

Maybe take the cooler off and re-paste if this hasn't been done in a few years.