1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPU volts fluctuating in cpuz, is it normal?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by SkeeterUK, 15 Jan 2006.

  1. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 14,866

    Location: North East

    Bit worried as its 1.4 in bios but in cpuz its ranmly going fgrom 1.390 ish to 1.44 ish. Im a bit worried is it ok or if not how do i stable it out to 1.4 all the time?

    Asus a8v deluxe rev 2 motherboard
    Amd 64 3500+ cpu
    asus v9999GE card (6800 2 power connectors)
    Audigy 2 ZS
    dvdrw
    2gb GEIL ddr400 ram
    arctic freezer 64 pro
    1 led 120mm fan blowing at back

    Akasa paxpower 400w psu
    Bought recently, should be powerful enough.

    On the othe comp i had befdore building this the amd xp 1900+ was rock stable volts at 1.75 so just woundering why its like this on this new comp.
     
    Last edited: 15 Jan 2006
  2. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,123

    Location: Surrey

    does it on mine too and its perfectly stable.

    probably something to do with draw on your 12v lines, they do fluctuate based on load.
     
  3. Xplo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,648

    Location: UK

    as long as 3.3v 5v and 12v are as near as these values as possible your fine voltage will always fluctuate nothing to worry about
     
  4. oTTo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,218

    Location: Cumbria

    cpu-z does not give you totally accurate readings, it rounds the value up or down. If your voltage lies in the middle of 2 values then you will see it 'fluctuating'.
    If possible, try putting a multi-meter across a molex plug to test 5V/12V and I'm confident that it'll be stable :)
     
  5. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 18,586

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    CPU-Z says that my cpu is only drawing 0.769v so i take what it says with a pinch of salt.
    Yes cool and quiet is disabled and that was overclocked to 2.645ghz with 1.6v going through it.
     
  6. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,197

    Location: Belfast

    CPU-Z is 100% accurate.

    It's the sensor on the motherboard which isn't ;)