1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Crash and Reboot

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by nIckEl101, 12 Apr 2006.

  1. nIckEl101

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Jan 2006

    Posts: 714

    Location: Thame

    Hi all,

    wonder if you can confirm my suspicion.

    My current setup is:

    Abit AG8 3rd EYe Mobo
    P4 3.2 Ghz Prescott
    Nvid 6800GT 256 meg
    2 gb DDR Memory
    150 Gig Sata drive
    Akasa AK-920 EVO 120 CPU Cooler
    350W PSU

    Recently on startup my mobo make a low beep and resets itself and then proceeeds to boot normally.

    Over the past few days, I have been experiecing crashes, where the pc literrally turns itself off and reboots.

    I think since putting in the cpu cooler, and adding an extra GB or ram, it's been putting alot of stress on the PSU, it has been getting quite hot, so I think it fails.

    So i have gone ordered a 500W PSU in the hope that it;s the PSU and not hardware related.

    Do you think I've done the right thing? or have i just wasted money....

    thanks
     
  2. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,625

    Did you check temperatures etc.
    What brand is the 350w psu?
     
  3. nIckEl101

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Jan 2006

    Posts: 714

    Location: Thame

    I did check the temps, and they looked pretty normal to me, CPU was running at just over 60C under load, which i don't think is that bad for a prescott.

    My PSU:

    350W HyperPower PSU
     
  4. n3x

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Nov 2005

    Posts: 958

    Location: Surrey

    what psu have u ordered?
     
  5. nIckEl101

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Jan 2006

    Posts: 714

    Location: Thame

    520W Silver Stone aPFC PSU Low Noise ( not purchased from overclockers)
     
  6. nIckEl101

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Jan 2006

    Posts: 714

    Location: Thame

    an update, since putting in the new PSU, all problems are solved..

    One strange thing was that my system time, kept changing on restart.. since new PSU, it has remained the correct value!

    So some advice to anyone.

    IF you System Time and Date keep changing, it may be you PSU !

    wierd huh/.. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Datamonkey

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 6,772

    Location: Kempston - Bedfordshire

    time n date is normally your cmos bat dude lol.

    but i guess if the psu was faulty it may not be supplying enough juice to keep the cmos batt charged.