1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creative X-Fi & Speedlink Medusa 5.1

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by gazozborne, 9 Jan 2006.

  1. gazozborne

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 247

    Does anyone know how i connect these up at all?

    im having trouble finding exactly what cable goes where in the back of the soundcard as i cant find the manual & the creative site isnt any help at all. Thought it would be easy but with the wires being different colours & it doesnt tell me what goes where in the Medusa's manual.

    Cheers

    Edit: nevermind i figured it out! Didnt realise you just shoved it in the main output one, also if sound only comes from one plug do i really need the other 2 plugged into the soundcard?
     
    Last edited: 9 Jan 2006
  2. kip02

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Jul 2004

    Posts: 790

    Location: Stockton on Tees

    Hi, I have the same setup have you noticed any clicking noise at all. Most noticeable when there is no music playing?
     
    Last edited: 10 Jan 2006
  3. gazozborne

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 247

    Hrm, just trying them right now with no sound and i cant notice any clicking personally. Is it really quiet or loud clicking?
     
  4. kip02

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Jul 2004

    Posts: 790

    Location: Stockton on Tees

    It varies time to time, sometimes it is hardly noticeable but others you cant hear the music over the clicking. Was just trying to get a sound clip of it so i could post it, but with sods law it never does it when you want to show someone. Cheers anyway
     
  5. snow patrol

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,884

    Location: London

    are you sure it's not interference from say a phone cradle or modem etc? You have to be careful about where you put the little amp thing with the medusa.
     
  6. Workshed

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Oct 2005

    Posts: 95

    I've got the same headphones and i get a similar clicking noise if it's (the little amp or the long lead to the headphones) too close to my wireless transmitter. They're great headphones but they don't seem very well shielded (if at all!)
     
  7. Benny

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2005

    Posts: 371

    Location: London


    alright mate,

    just curious do have wireless? I had the medusa 5.1's for approx 2 days before I sent them back for being,.......well lets say not very good (my opinion). I noticed a clicking sound. It was driving me potty. I'am quite particular about interference sounds etc. I found that after disabling my wireless card that the clicking vamooshed. If you don't have wireless I would have to agree with snow patrol, it might be some form of interference.

    Benny
     
  8. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,677

    Location: Ealing, London

    Got the Fatality and Medusa combo, no clicking noise's but definite case of tinitus :D
     
  9. kip02

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Jul 2004

    Posts: 790

    Location: Stockton on Tees

    Yes the amp is fairly close to multiple wireless pieces of equipment. As you can see on the picture there's my mouse dock just next to it, with my access point just above, there is also a cordless phone usually lying around on my desk and a mobile phone etc.

    [​IMG]

    Will have a move of the amp to a better place and report back, thanks for the suggestions everyone! :D
     
  10. kip02

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Jul 2004

    Posts: 790

    Location: Stockton on Tees

    Its my bloody access point!!!

    Just performed a little experiment with what was mentioned on some wireless equipment by unplugging and powering back up the access point and the clicking came and went time after time. Its now solved, thank you, thank you thank you! It's been driving me mad :D
     
  11. Borden

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,808

    Location: Derby

    I get the same problem with the clicking. The only wireless equipment in the room is my wireless network card. I'll have a go at moving the amp around and see what happens.

    Was about to start my own thread on the problem when i saw this thread.
     
  12. Borden

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,808

    Location: Derby

    Since moving the amp to the other side of my desk, the clicking has stopped.

    Thanks guys ;)
     
  13. Benny

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2005

    Posts: 371

    Location: London

    yup same here tinitus, gotta love it huh?

    B