1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Crossfire in 3Dmark05/06

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LanceCrossfire, 6 Jul 2006.

  1. LanceCrossfire

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2006

    Posts: 771

    Location: altrincham, manchester

    first my spec...

    Intel Pentium D 805 [email protected]
    1024mb OCZ PC5400 667mhz(single channel)
    Intel 975XBX "bad axe" rev304 motherboard (20/6/2006 bios installed)
    1x Connect 3D 512mb X1900 Crossfire Edition
    1x Gigabyte 512mb X1900XT-X
    1x Jeantech 600w Artic PSU (powering mobo & gigabyte card)
    1x Hiper 580W PSU (powering Connect 3D card & drives)
    250Gb SataII HDD
    NEC DVD-RW
    Windows Media Centre 2005

    i have the latest drivers for the cards(catalyst 6.6), updated the bios etc..., crossfire is enabled, tried reversing the cards, swapping dvi sockets, and tested them individually, everythings ok but im still only achieving roughly...
    3Dmark 05 = 8900-9500
    3Dmark 06 = 7000-7500

    sureley i should be getting better?! thanks for any help in advance.
     
  2. Sharkypal

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 22 Jun 2005

    Posts: 836

    Nah, thats about right ... I get about 8K in 06. My system is not quite the same as yours but close. I test with AA/AF off.

    S
     
  3. LanceCrossfire

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2006

    Posts: 771

    Location: altrincham, manchester

    what res are you at? and do you run all the tests or just the default ones?
     
  4. chris06

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Mar 2006

    Posts: 391

    They sound low to me. In 05 it should be about 14k.
     
  5. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,912

    Location: In a house

    Looks like single card scores to me, i get 8.6k odd with a single x1800 XT 512mb in 05, if i up my 3500+ to 2.4ghz then i get shy of 10k by about 50 points.
     
  6. MeatLoaf

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,271

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Yeah thats far to low. I get over 10k in 05 with just the XTX card.
     
  7. LanceCrossfire

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2006

    Posts: 771

    Location: altrincham, manchester

    just ran 3dmark 05 with all tests selected at a resoltuion of 1024x768 and scored a poor 9407 marks:( what do people reccommend i do i didnt pay £550+ on 2 cards to get single card scores:D do you reckon single channel memory could be holding me back? i know it would alittle but no 4000 marks worth:S
    does 3dmark also detect dual cards?
     
    Last edited: 6 Jul 2006
  8. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,912

    Location: In a house

    Sounds like Crossfire is not activated properly, and your still running 1x card.

    What drivers are you using, and was there an option in the BIOS for Crossfire, and if your using the latest drivers with the CCC have you got the Crossfire option, and ticked Crossfire enabled or whatever it is.

    Welcome to the forums btw. :)

    EDIT: Just seen you do have the latest Cat drivers. :p
     
    Last edited: 6 Jul 2006
  9. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,229

    Location: Ireland

    In 06 im getting just over 9k, thats with an opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz and a crossfire setup. Its probably the pentium holding the score back id assume.
     
  10. Semiskimmed

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jun 2006

    Posts: 4,768

    05 scores are far, far too low mate. should be doubel that. id also say 06 is a tad low too tbh
     
  11. LanceCrossfire

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2006

    Posts: 771

    Location: altrincham, manchester

    yeah i have the crossfire option and its enabled, just installed the omega drivers after using driver clean to get rid of the catalyst 6.6(does the omega even have crossfire support?) anyway i got a slightly lower score, leading me to assume only one card is running... theres no option in the bios that i can see... if anyone has the rev 304 of the bad axe could you please confirm.
     
  12. LanceCrossfire

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2006

    Posts: 771

    Location: altrincham, manchester

    think im gonna reload and start from scratch and see if its software related... they may be some driver debris from my last mobo and chipset...
     
  13. chris06

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Mar 2006

    Posts: 391

    Have you tried any games? Do you see an improvement in them as there more important than 3d mark
     
  14. LanceCrossfire

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2006

    Posts: 771

    Location: altrincham, manchester

    ran the lost coast video stress test and a still get a very similar average of about 55fsp @ 1400x900
     
  15. BubbySoup

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,853

    Location: Cardiff

    I've never used the omega drivers - do they come with the CCC? I always assumed you needed the CCC for X-fire to function??
     
  16. LanceCrossfire

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2006

    Posts: 771

    Location: altrincham, manchester

    i tried the omegas just to humour myself, they dont come with CCC(its a modified version without Xfire support), the machine is being formatted and reinstalled as i write this... hope its sorted:(
     
  17. LanceCrossfire

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2006

    Posts: 771

    Location: altrincham, manchester

    just reinstalled windows and all the drivers and im now getting 10000marks on 3dmark 05 which is still very low...:(
     
  18. cyclops12

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,764

    yes that is very low i get over 12000 with a mild overclock [ single card ]

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1985311
     
    Last edited: 6 Jul 2006
  19. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,912

    Location: In a house

    Yup thats definately single card scores, have you tried both cards on their own to rule out one being faulty.
     
  20. LanceCrossfire

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2006

    Posts: 771

    Location: altrincham, manchester

    tried both cards individually and they work fine, this is doing my head in!!!