1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Customizing windows

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by oxygene, 5 Feb 2006.

  1. oxygene

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,153

    Location: Bournemouth

    ok considering my beats of a pc is now a force to be reckoned with around my halls I decided its time to make it look unique on the desktop at least. I got holkd of something called Aqua dock which is very cool, but now I was wondering if anyone knoew how to remove all desktop icons and more importantly get rid of the task bar. I have it set to autohide, but it pops up annoyingly when I dont want it to, and I want it dead! Would be nice if I could still keep something like the system tray in the corner though. I got linked to a prog once that displayed yuor pc temp and hd space on desktop. That would be great to find again.

    thnx!
     
  2. Youstolemyname

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 5,230

    Location: The Voice Of Football

  3. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    Have a look through this thread for inspiration and suggestions;
    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17403319

    If you really want to change windows, have a look at programs such as Litestep or blackbox for windows

    http://www.litestep.net/
    http://www.bb4win.org/news.php

    Personally I don't like these programs as I find them too different, and hard to get used to. But its all down to personal preference. Also have a look at www.deviantart.com for wallpapers, skins, icons etc.

    For changing icons I use a great little program called Iphile
    http://www.virtualplastic.net/scrow/iphile.html
     
  4. dirtydog

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,398

    Location: Essex

    In display properties, desktop.. customise desktop.. untick desktop icons.
     
  5. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    The recycle bin can also be removed with a registry hack
     
  6. Borden

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,808

    Location: Derby

    Or you could download the TweakUI Powertoy which can remove it and also has a lot more useful little tweaks ;)
     
  7. oxygene

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,153

    Location: Bournemouth

    ok thanks for all the tips I had a lot of fun, and now the result is quite sweet. here it is below:

    http://www.oxygene13.co.uk/desktop.JPG

    the bottom bar is autohide. Quite useful. Nothing on desktop, and the sidebar/taskbar is now kind of inoffensive.
     
  8. oxygene

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,153

    Location: Bournemouth

    actually, I am still missing the program I can use to disaply stuff on desktop like cpu usage and hd capacity. I tried the one mentioned above but it doesnt seam to like working. It was a different one I used befrpe too, wish I could remember the name!
     
  9. Borden

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,808

    Location: Derby

    Try and learn how to use Samurize (i assume that's the one you couldn't get to work) as it's a great little app that is fully customizable to what you want. Check out come tutorials on the samurize website and you will soon get the hang of it :)
     
  10. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    Samurize is definately the one to use. It can be a little tricky to use sometimes, and a bit of scripting knowledge goes a long way when trying to get really cool stuff working. But its also easy to do the basics. I found the best way to learn is to load up someone elses config, and reverse engineer it, to see how they have created it.
     
  11. Borden

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,808

    Location: Derby

    Yep, that's what i used to do. I also used to hae a go at modifying other peoples' scripts and trying to expand on what's been done. You eventually pick it up and from then on it's easy ;)
     
  12. DanMc07

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,041

    Is there any tuts aroud for learning how to make scripts etc for Samurize? its like a foregin language to me!!
     
  13. metalmackey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,148

    Location: Behind you

    What is the cpu/mem usage for Samurize, please?
     
  14. Big Chris

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,383

    Location: Chipping Norton

    I've been meaning to change some stuff in Windows for a while but am sceptical about doing it in case I mess anything up. Can you cause your machine any grief by fiddling?

    Also, people all seem to recommend different apps saying some hog resources or have adware etc and others don't. Which would you guys say are the most user friendly and system friendly apps? (apologies for the thread hi-jack oxygene!)
     
  15. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    In theory you can break things by fiddling, but i'd say its pretty hard to do any serious damage. The absolute worst case scenario is that you'd have to reinstall windows again, but thats not likely at all.

    As for program resources it varies. For changing themes I use the uxtheme hack, which doesn't use any more resources than windows usually does. The amount of resources Samurize uses varies hugely depending on how you've got your config set up. Usually it doesn't hardly use any at all, mine at the moment uses between 700kb-2mb However I did have one config that had loads of stuff, and updated every milisecond or so, and that chewed up quite a bit of resources. But overall, no it doesn't use much.