D7100 --> Fuji...? but which one...Travel...

Associate
So I currently have a D7100 and a number of lenses, macro, some primes, long zoom (70-300), 12-24. I'm off on some travels for Christmas long flights and weight limits.

So have been looking to take in my D7100 kits and move to something smaller/lighter but still wanting decent image quality, though I'm no pro.

I had considered A6000, great IQ but complete lack of lenses is a no no. M43 small and light, nice lens selection but unsure on IQ and decent primes cost as much as the fuji ones which have a decent rep for built and imagine quality except the 18mm. I have read that the new EM1 Mark 2 outperforms the X-T2 in terms of IQ, but thats out of budget!

So the 16mp fuji's have poor auto focus, certainly not similar to a DSLR, which would kind of be a step backwards so that leaves the bodies with the 24mp at the cost of additional lenses...

Is there much difference between the 16 vs 24 in terms of image quality? Are the 24mp bodies more DSLR like for auto focus, in real world situations (eg kids running around) ?

So my current thoughts are

X-E2S + 18-55 + 55-200 + 23mm (or another prime)

X-T20 + 18-55 + 23mm +(or another prime)

X-E3 + 18-55 + 23mm (or another prime) if enough budget left...

Funds available are about 1300-1500

thoughts would be greatly appreciated (have been looking on the fuji refurb store :) )

thanks

Soldato
X-T20 or XE3. The former being a cut down XT2 and the latter being an alternative to the XPro 2. I wouldn't have thought the XE2s wouldn' be good value compared to the XE3. Good luck. There's a used XPro 2 at MPB for just over the price of a XE3 and an XT20 for something like £664.00.

Last edited:
Soldato
So the 16mp fuji's have poor auto focus, certainly not similar to a DSLR, which would kind of be a step backwards so that leaves the bodies with the 24mp at the cost of additional lenses...