1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dead cpu?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Energize, 2 May 2006.

  1. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,881

    Location: England

    Ok on a friends computer, the computer powers on and the fans spin, but there isnt any output, I know the gfx card works. I was wondering if a dead cpu could cause there to be no output, or would it say cpu failure or something?
     
  2. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,509

    Are there any beeps. Could be mobo ram cpu etc.
     
  3. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,881

    Location: England

    Ive checked everything else its either the cpu or mobo. Unfortunatley the pc mobo wasnt connected to the speaker at the time, typical:rolleyes:
     
  4. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,509

    Does his cpu work in your machine - presume not if you havent tested it.
     
  5. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,881

    Location: England

    I would test it if the cpu wasnt stuck onto the heatsink in my pc lol. Its going to be a bit before I can get it off.
     
  6. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,509

    Run your pc for a while then gently twist it. Should come away.
     
  7. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,881

    Location: England

    Ill have to do that later.

    Anyway I connected the other pcs mobo the the speaker on my case because his case doesnt have one for some reason. I got 10 short beeps then nothing.
     
  8. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,509

    Check the mobo manual for the beep code.
     
  9. SteveOBHave

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 6,588

    Location: Sydney Australia

    Tried a battery out CMOS reset? (You should leave this for a little while - I have had to leave my battery out for more than an hour sometimes.)

    I am assuming that it doesn't even get as far as spinning up the Hard Drives?

    What you can do to narrow it down is the following:

    Individually remove each piece of hardware and power on, including the video card... it should get as far as initialising the Hard Drives even if you have this out.

    Try moving the memory into different slots, using only one Dimm at a time.

    Pull the power cord out of the PSU and leave for about 30 seconds put it back in again, this can sometimes get a PC unstuck.

    Disconnect all USB devices

    Try building the machine one device at a time...
     
  10. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,881

    Location: England

    Ive done all that im just stuck on wether its the cpu or mobo. Its an asrock dual sata 2 mobo and the error codes dont seem to be on their website.
     
  11. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,509

    Did he flash the bios prior to this?
     
  12. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,509

    If he did leave 1 stick of memory in and reset cmos. Then hopefully it will work. You may have to reset cmos numerous times until it works.
     
  13. SteveOBHave

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 6,588

    Location: Sydney Australia

    I think that ASROCK use the AMI Bios - according to that the error is: CMOS shutdown Read/Write error. Hope this helps... Try a long CMOS reset power and battery out.

    AMI BIOS BEEP CODES

    The following are AMI BIOS Beep Codes that can occur. However because of the wide variety of different computer manufacturers with this BIOS the beep codes may vary.

    Beep Code Descriptions
    1 short DRAM refresh failure
    2 short Parity circuit failure
    3 short Base 64K RAM failure
    4 short System timer failure
    5 short Process failure
    6 short Keyboard controller Gate A20 error
    7 short Virtual mode exception error
    8 short Display memory Read/Write test failure
    9 short ROM BIOS checksum failure
    10 short CMOS shutdown Read/Write error
    11 short Cache Memory error
    1 long, 3 short Conventional/Extended memory failure
    1 long, 8 short Display/Retrace test failed
     
  14. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,881

    Location: England

    Ok I reset the cmos and it worked! Thanks guys. :) Really strange that was.
     
  15. SteveOBHave

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 6,588

    Location: Sydney Australia


    Wicked :) you're welcome!
     
  16. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,881

    Location: England

    I cant believe it actually worked though, after I had taken the 3200 cpu out to test it, I dropped it and it hit the ram bending about 10pins I had to use a tiny pair of scisors to straighten them and then forced the cpu into the ziff socket and crushed the heatsink ontop of it while trying to latch it on, this was after I ripped the heatsink out of the socket and the cpu came out attached to it! These things really take some punishment :p
     
    Last edited: 2 May 2006
  17. SteveOBHave

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 6,588

    Location: Sydney Australia


    You're very lucky. If I had a hot meal for every time I've seen a single pin come off after being bent once! The new Intel LGA775 sockets are a whole bunch smarter.

    Soooo lucky, I know the feeling tho, it's that kind of impending doom like you're about to stuff it up. I swapped out my iPod battery today and you have to be quite forceful to do it. Felt like I was going to throw £300 out the door :)