1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Decent Setup?.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by -=PLuKE=-, 14 Aug 2006.

  1. -=PLuKE=-

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Aug 2006

    Posts: 43

    Location: Blackpool, UK

    Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 "LGA775 Allendale"

    GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC6300 DDR2 Dual Channel Kit

    Gigabyte DS3

    Radeon X1900XT 512mb

    Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250GB

    Artic Freezer 7 Pro

    Anygood? Looking for a good OC on the CPU.

    Luke
     
  2. TheOracle

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2005

    Posts: 13,284

    change the HDD to a segate and you've probably got the best value for money high end system
     
  3. GhostRider

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 May 2006

    Posts: 295

    Agree with Glen8

    You getting the

    Connect3D ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (3056) (GX-047-CO)

    Price: £174.95 (£205.57 Including VAT at 17.5%)

    ??
     
  4. -=PLuKE=-

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Aug 2006

    Posts: 43

    Location: Blackpool, UK

    No, The Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-112-SP).

    What Seagate HDD would u say around the same price as the Maxtor?.

    Luke
     
  5. MattJones2k6

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Jul 2006

    Posts: 299

    Location: South Wales

    Thought a western digital would have been better.
     
  6. GhostRider

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 May 2006

    Posts: 295

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB ST3250620AS SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD-079-SE)

    Price: £52.55 (£61.75 Including VAT at 17.5%)

    or

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB ST3320620AS SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD-078-SE)

    Price: £62.95 (£73.97 Including VAT at 17.5%)

    both are as fast as the raptors with 8 mb buffers

    Graphics card choice is good. I wouldn't get the ones that cost more than that.
     
  7. -=PLuKE=-

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Aug 2006

    Posts: 43

    Location: Blackpool, UK

    KK, Just cant wait 2 get it all now, Will wait till next month now as am busy with work etc so wont have any real time for it. Will no dout be asking questions when i get it all as nothing runs smooth that i get :D.

    Luke
     
  8. Trigger

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    No, the new segate drives are top notch and compete easily with raptor speeds :)
     
  9. grs_link

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 579

    Location: Aberdeen

    if u dont intened to have ** system permantly oced....
    I would recomment the extra strech to go for the 6400.

    I just find it hard to digest having a setup the defaults under 2gigs :(

    as about hds I am western digital guy myself, but if you are not going after raptors.. then seagates will serve you well

    dont ruleout samsung though, they come with a 3 year warranty.
     
  10. MattJones2k6

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Jul 2006

    Posts: 299

    Location: South Wales

    This guy knows what hes talking about. Go for the 6400!