1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dell 7800gtx Clocks?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by harris1986, 19 Jan 2006.

  1. harris1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,684

    Hi guys i'm can currently get hold of a cheap 7800gtx that was in a xps system through a friend, i'm just wandering if anyone has one of these cards or if they have any knowledge of what clocks they have?
     
  2. Dougsnake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,053

    Location: west yorkshire

    483 /1310 mine clocks too with coolbits autodetect havent been bothered to find its ultimate clock rates its the one with same massive cooler as a leadtek extreme cooler with heat pipes totally silent :) also made by foxconn.
    well worth what i paid for it.
     
  3. harris1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,684

    yeah kool, did u buy yours as part of your system or did u buy it seperate? what were the default clocks?
     
  4. Dougsnake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,053

    Location: west yorkshire

    was bought seperate with default clocks of 430/1200 even though it was advertised at 450/1250 still over the moon with it :)
    oh ye while i remember it came with massive nvidia marked steel brace or whatever it was i almost had a heart attack when i opened it up as it looked like the card was almost 3 foot long :eek: but that unscrewed fine,have pic somewhere if your interested.
     
    Last edited: 19 Jan 2006
  5. harris1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,684

    yeah sure email me at me in trust could you also email me where you bought it from and for how much?
     
    Last edited: 19 Jan 2006
  6. Goksly

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,592

    Location: Nottingham

    i'd edit that unless you want to be banned ;)
     
  7. wyatt gates

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jul 2003

    Posts: 1,908

    Location: Bracknell, Berks.

    default clocks for foxconn is 450 and 1.2 :),i have one in shuttle it is a tight squeeze :p
     
  8. harris1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,684

    are these cards sli'able?
     
  9. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,272

    Location: Ireland

    If it has the connector then yes.
     
  10. Bomag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,050

    Location: Leeds

    Dougsnake

    I know what you mean about the size - when I got mine I thought was going to suppass the Voodoo 6000! Although it only clocks to 481/1280 its 10C cooler than my 450Mhz XFX and just as quiet. Given the price I thought is was a misslabled GT, but its the real deal.

    Now the only thing is to break 8000 on 3DMark06, only 100 points to go!
     
  11. harris1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,684

    nice doug, just want to thankyou for all your help on this one :) end of month will see me picking up one of these babies hehe can't wait, dougsnake did you notice if these have the sli bridge on them? also Bomag what 3dmark 05 score do you get?
     
  12. GingaNinja

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 642

    Location: Maidenhead

    I picked one of these up myself. The card clocks to 500/1300. Perfectly stable and pulls just under 9000 in 3Dmark2k5 and just under 4500 in 3Dmark2k6.

    Ginga
     
  13. harris1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,684

    what the hell? 4500 in 3dmark 06, don't get me wrong i'm impressed with that but how is Bomag 100 points off 8000, he must have a killer rig! I'm planning on getting 2 of these cards, have you tried pushing the card's clocks any further?
     
  14. GingaNinja

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 642

    Location: Maidenhead

    I think 4500 isn't too bad for a single 7800gtx, looking at the review on anandtech. I think Bomag must have two 7800gtx cards in sli. It looks like he has an XFX card in addition to the Dell.

    Ginga
     
  15. Dougsnake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,053

    Location: west yorkshire

    almost sure it has will have a look inside my case later to check it for sure but the spec sheet said it has sli :)
     
  16. harris1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,684

    ahh yeah kool :)
     
  17. Bomag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,050

    Location: Leeds

    harris

    3d05 score is 13036

    4400 x2 at 2640mhz

    sli at 491/1242 according to 3dmark but set 481/1280
    (xfx 450 plus the 'dell/foxconn')

    and it does have the sli bridge connector - apart from the cooler it looks like it is based on the reference design.

    pushed the o/c to 495/1305 last night but got no noticable increase in speed.
     
  18. harris1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,684

    ahh kewl :) sounds good then thanks man <3
     
  19. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2003

    Posts: 3,744

    Location: UK

    Just got one of these for £217 , thought it may have clocked a bit higher than that with that huge heatsink.

    Still, I cant wait for it to come :)
     
    Last edited: 22 Jan 2006