1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DFI Expert Ram Problems

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Amidar, 15 Jun 2006.

  1. Amidar

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2003

    Posts: 2,490

    Location: Darlington

    Hi,i have just installed my Crucial Ballistix PC4000 (2 x 1GB sticks)in my Expert mobo and running at 3.2.2.8(In the orange slots)Now in my previous motherboards Asus A8N32-SLI & SLI-DR it would run 2.2.2.5 if i even change it to 2-5.2.2.5 it wont boot?
    Just wondered if anybody knows what is wrong :confused:

    I'm trying to run the timings tight as i just up my multiplier to overclock.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Rokusho

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 May 2005

    Posts: 302

    Location: In my chair

    Change back to regular timings, then use memtest on each of the modules independantly
     
  3. Amidar

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2003

    Posts: 2,490

    Location: Darlington

    Hi,have already done that should have said in my first post.I set them to PC4000 speeds 400mhz & the correct timings and they have been fine for 24 hours.
     
  4. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    PC4000 speed is 250Mhz, not 200Mhz.

    What BIOS are you using, on my DFI I couldn't get anywhere stability wise until I updated the BIOS.
     
  5. Amidar

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2003

    Posts: 2,490

    Location: Darlington

    Sorry i mean they where running at 250mhz not 200mhz during memtest.Will see what bio's version i am on & flash to the latest if a newer one is available.
     
  6. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,521

    Location: Midlands

    i don't understand why ram works better in certain slots on these dfi boards. what if you wanted to run 4 gig like me? the dfi board may not be able to handle it if its got problems using certain ram slots. they should have just made a 2 slot board.
     
  7. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Do you get errors in Memtest86+ and in what test(s)?

    I needed to run my Ballistix with active cooling as my sticks were roasting and causing instability because of it.

    [edit]I think I read in some reviews that the PC4000 sticks were different than the PC3200 sticks in the fact that some had trouble running 2-2-2-5 200Mhz and only really worked well at 3-4-4-8 250Mhz [/edit]
     
    Last edited: 16 Jun 2006
  8. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,521

    Location: Midlands

    ballistics pc3200 and 4000 are the same. they just have different spd data on them.
     
  9. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Same chips but possibly on different PCB's that are optimised for tight timings or high speed?
     
  10. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2003

    Posts: 3,813

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    It works better in the orange slots because the yellow ones are optimized for ram that needs a high vdimm, ie BH5. You can run 4gig of ram, but it will have to be at 2t not 1t. This has not got anything to do with the mobo, it's a limitation of the mem controller on the cpu. Setting the ram up to run sweet on a DFI requires a bit more than just setting 2.5-2-5-2. Take a look here and have a good read of the overclocking stickies.
     
  11. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,521

    Location: Midlands

    hang on. you mean that the not all the memory slots on this board provide the same amount of voltage?
     
  12. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2003

    Posts: 3,813

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    No i don't mean that at all. It's just when you have the jumpers set for a higher vdimm, it works better in the yellow slots.
     
  13. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,521

    Location: Midlands


    hang on now im confused, so if you had 4 sticks of ram would they not work properly in this board since all the slots don't seem to behave the same according to your earlier post?
     
  14. ted34

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,738

    Location: Edinburgh

    No what he's saying is that yellow is generally better for bh5 and orange for tccd. Both put out the same voltage which you set in the bios. Most people, especially those with dfi run only 2 sticks for overclocking an so having this extra compatibility helps. If you run 4 sticks you will need to run 2t and the board will still do this
     
  15. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2003

    Posts: 3,813

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn


    Yes that is exactly what i mean. The DFI NF4's were designed for overclocking, so all sorts of ram were catered for. If you want a mobo to run 4 sticks of ram they will still do that as well, but timmings will have to be slackened the same as on every other mobo.