1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Difference between San Diego and Opteron :confused:

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Dutch Guy, 31 Jan 2006.

  1. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    I find it very hard to decide what Skt939 CPU I want, I have a Opteron 146 on backorder somewhere but I doubt AMD will ever make them again so I gotta think about alternatives.

    As far as I can see are the only difference between a Venice and the San diego the 512kb/1mb cache??

    But wouldn't that make a San Diego the same as a Opteron which itself is the same as a FX but without a unlocked multi?
     
  2. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    There's no real difference between the San Diegos and the Opterons.

    In essence, the two cores are the same. Both have 1mb L2, are s939 and use the rev. E memory controler. The only reason people are hyping the Opterons so much is because they clock well. :)
     
  3. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Is that because they are sort of handpicked by AMD and are the best clocking cores with low voltage?
     
  4. Sparky-F1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 7,622

    Location: Roundabout City

    Best wafers used as they are supposed to be server chips.Also require less volts than the usual A64's.well mine does anyway.
     
  5. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    So it is worth it to keep looking for a Opteron instead of getting a SD 3700+ ??
     
  6. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,599

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    It used to be when they were £100 but not anymore, the new SD 3700+'s (KAB3E stepping I think) are clocking just as well.
     
  7. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    I have one on back-order for €173 (£118) including delivery but the retailer can't give me a date when he expects them :(
     
  8. booyaka

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 13,179

    Not sure of the stepping on my 3700 but got it about 2 weeks ago from overclockers and it's running 2.7ghz on stock volts and stock cooler.

    They are a bargin @ £150 or so.
     
  9. Workshed

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Oct 2005

    Posts: 95

    I have one on backorder with a retailer for about that price too, gave them a ring yesterday and they have 35,000 preorders :eek: apparently they will not be selling them at the price everyone has ordered them at though. They are about to start ringing/emailing everyone who has ordered one to see if they want them at the new price (which they don't "officially" have yet which is why they haven't started ringing people). They are saying that if people still want them at the new price they should be shipping in the second week of February.
     
  10. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Yeah, i'm seriuosly considering getting one, I e-mailed the retailer I ordered a Opteron 146 from if they can deliver one soon, if not I'll cancel the order and get a SD 3700+ from OcUK
     
  11. Agent WD40

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2005

    Posts: 710

    I'd definatly go with the 3700SD.

    I'm going to sell mine soon as my Opty 170 has arrived but my 3700SD has done 3ghz @ 1.55V but it wasn't stable. Could still do a 3Dmark06!

    My CPU is KAB2E but if you can get your hands on a KAB3E you will be laughing. Some thing like 3ghz on stock volts with the usual air cooling!
     
  12. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

    the san diego chips are clocking just aswell as the opterons atm mine hit 3ghz at 1.5v
     
  13. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    A SD 3700+ sounds interesting but I have just received a reply back that they will deliver me a new Opteron 146 for €173 and that they expect stock soon so I'll give them a week.
     
  14. sgoaty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,940

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    35,000 thats mad. I blame Custom PC mag for giving the impression they all do 2.8 no probs
     
  15. Workshed

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Oct 2005

    Posts: 95

    Yeah probably right!!
     
  16. ninjapilot

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 943

    Location: UK, Brighton

    Also don't the 3700SD have a higher multi?

    Ninja
     
  17. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    they have a 11x multi vs a 10x multi for a Opteron 146 but a 10x multi is fine as I have a DFI mobo that will do 300Mhz easy (I hope :p )

    I gave OcUK a e-mail using the webnote system asking what SD 3700+ stepping they are selling but they can't tell me what stepping it is and that they can have several steppings.
     
  18. ninjapilot

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 943

    Location: UK, Brighton

    it took me ages to decide what to get and when i did they were out of stock :(
    its almost like playing the Lottery with these steppings (what am i going to get)

    Ninja
     
  19. Carter

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Nov 2002

    Posts: 3,105

    Location: North Yorkshire

    Just received mine, it's a KAB2E, just got it installed, so will be playing around with it tonight.
     
  20. mysticsniper

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 May 2003

    Posts: 9,472


    Me thinks you aren't looking in the right place for one of these 146's. I can see them in stock at £176.19, a bit pricey, but I suppose as they aren't available in most places the price will be rising all the time ;)

    MODEL NUMBER:
    OSA146BNBOX

    STEPPING:
    E4
     
    Last edited: 1 Feb 2006