1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

diluiting ethanol to make 10%

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by riamu, 1 Oct 2009.

1. riamu

Hitman

i have 96% alcohol (ethanol) and i want to make up a 150 ml solution of 10 % ethanol. I am not good at the maths, please could you let me know how much water i need to add to what quantity of the 96 % ethanol. thanks.

2. alex24

Capodecina

Is this your homework? :rolleyes:

3. St.Josh

Gangster

A few cups should do it.

4. riamu

Hitman

no i am preparing homeopathic medicine at home and the granules need to be added to 150 ml of 10% ethanol. Thanks

5. LostPhil

Hitman

15.6ml of ethanol, 134.4ml water?

(or just 15 & 135!)

EDIT: It must be said that I have no clue about actually diluting ethanol, just did the maths...

6. Rotty

Don

135ml water to 15ml ethanol will be near enough

7. fez

Capodecina

Really?

To get a 10% solution of 96% ethanol you would need 100 / 96 * 10 = 10.416 recurring ml of ethanol. That gives u a 10% solution at 100ml. You can do the rest...

8. Le_Petit_Lapin

Capodecina

16ml of your ethanol to 134ml of water should do the trick, no?

Or you could just chuck that homeopathic crap in the bin, dilute the ethanol 40:60 water and have a drink with some fruit juice and feel better than that moon medicine will make you feel.

9. oli collett

Mobster

hahahahahahaha

No wait, you are joking aren't you? If not, save some time, have a glass of water.

10. dowie

Caporegime

LMAO

I'm thinking there is a link here

inability to do basic maths and an interest/belief in homeopathic medicine....

11. Vonhelmet

Caporegime

I can't believe I'm helping someone dumb enough to believe in homeopathy, but the answer is 139 7/12 ml.

12. Greenlizard0

Man of Honour

Therein lies the point though!:p

13. Heaven Can Wait

Hitman