1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DJI Osmo Action

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by The_Abyss, 12 May 2019.

  1. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 May 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    Exactly. And in my case, that side is flush to a motorcycle helmet, so now I'll have to mount it upside down and look like I'm riding with some kind of antenna attached!

    Despite this, the quality of the camera is great, and the stabilisation crushes GoPro's in the real world. Picked up another one, and good to see that batteries are now shipping too.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Apr 2008

    Posts: 16,756

    I bought a few spare batteries too. I am just waiting for the 3 way battery dock charger to go in stock
     
  3. AndyCr15

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Apr 2011

    Posts: 10,980

    Location: Barnet, London

    £19 battery and £13 shipping when I looked though :( That's perhaps the most expensive shipping I've ever seen on just about anything! I'm sure they could actually send me one for about £2... I didn't bother.
     
  4. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Apr 2008

    Posts: 16,756

    yea shipping aint nice. its shipping from overseas thats why!

    no stock piled in the uk it seems
     
  5. Cyclone

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,784

    Location: Essex

    Extra batteries is what Ill be after on payday :)
     
  6. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 May 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    I guess they waive the shipping for larger orders - I don't appear to have paid any.
     
  7. Cyclone

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,784

    Location: Essex

    [​IMG]

    Had a go at light trails using the Action
     
  8. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Apr 2008

    Posts: 16,756

    very nice
     
  9. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 May 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    Not too shabby at all from an action camera.
     
  10. Cyclone

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,784

    Location: Essex

    Thanks chaps. The shutter speed on this was 5 seconds, but it goes up to 120 seconds which should be good for stars.
     
  11. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 May 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    Still no external mic adaptor though. DJI jus seem to have this annoying habit of moving on to another product without finishing the earlier ones.
     
  12. Cyclone

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,784

    Location: Essex

    Last edited: 22 Sep 2019
  13. AndyCr15

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Apr 2011

    Posts: 10,980

    Location: Barnet, London

    Ooooh, finally. £39 mind you... I probably will though...
     
  14. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 May 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    Finally! Thanks for linking!
     
  15. Cyclone

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,784

    Location: Essex

     
  16. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2009

    Posts: 3,745

    Location: Cheshire

    I was about to buy the osmo... Then saw the new hero 8.

    I also have an old camera for trade up so the new 8 would only be 279.99

    But I hear so much bad stuff about gopro.
     
  17. The_Abyss

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 May 2007

    Posts: 12,805

    Location: Ipswich / Bodham

    One of the best things that I've found about the Action is the mobile app. It just works so reliably, whereas GoPro always used to be a bit of a chore and hit and miss for me.

    I wish they'd ditch the on-camera screens and just bring out a more aerodynamic form factor.
     
  18. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2009

    Posts: 3,745

    Location: Cheshire

    I'm also not liking the non replaceable screen. That seems a bit of a backward step.

    Why do that? Who made that decision???!
     
  19. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2009

    Posts: 3,745

    Location: Cheshire

    Just got the osmo action. I waited to see the gp8. But that looks like a firmware update to the 7, with all the same reliability issues.

    So far really happy. Want a permanent cage really, maybe the one out of the box, but hate the mount.

    Ordered a pgytech tripod.
     
  20. Cyclone

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,784

    Location: Essex

    Had a result with this audio adapter. I was browsing one of the Chinese sites and came across the adapter for £9, (£31 off RRP).

    Took a chance and ordered it and it turned up today after 2 weeks. Plugged it in to the Action and it works :)