1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS woes

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Slinwagh, 22 May 2006.

  1. Slinwagh

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 6,034

    Location: Far far away....

    For some reason I can't access hsbc.co.uk

    If i ping hsbc.co.uk from my router (Cisco 857w) i get 161.113.4.1
    If i ping it from my PC i get 161.113.0.1

    I can access everything else i have tried so far; bbc, microsoft, intel, amd etc.

    My isp is Zen and I have checked that my router is using the correct DNS servers (212.23.3.100 and 212.23.6.100)

    i can ping the DNS servers, there is no issue with my default gateway, i have flushed the DNS cache, i have flushed the browser cache.

    NSlookup reports the correct DNS servers.

    Any ideas !?!?!

    Thansk !!
     
  2. CurlyWhirly

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 May 2003

    Posts: 1,429

    Location: UK

    I'm also with Zen and my request times out.

    Perhaps the banking website has been delibrately set up in this way as a security measure :confused:
     
  3. Slinwagh

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 6,034

    Location: Far far away....

    Yeah but my router and PC return different IP addresses.

    You have pinged the correct address where as my PC pings the wrong address.
     
  4. CurlyWhirly

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 May 2003

    Posts: 1,429

    Location: UK

    Gotcha ;)

    I'm sorry but I don't know why that is :confused:
     
  5. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    Results from a dns check on hsbc.co.uk.

    They have two IP's setup in dns, each time you check, there is a 50% chance on which IP number you'll get. Neither addresses are pingable, as they have secure firewalls in place.


    Name: hsbc.co.uk
    Addresses: 161.113.4.1, 161.113.0.1

    >

    Typing the IP addresses into Internet explorer, both are serving the website, so its probably just a load balancing system.

    I suggest you try a tracert instead, to see where your getting timeouts.
    IE c:\>tracert 161.113.4.1

    It should trace all the way to an obviouly hsbc address, belonging to their border gateway/firewall.
     
    Last edited: 22 May 2006
  6. Slinwagh

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 6,034

    Location: Far far away....

    Hmmm i just get page can't be found.....
     
  7. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    Probably a routing issue between zen (or the backbone they use), and whoever supplies connectivity to HSBC. A tracert will show where the problem lies, either you'll have to sit it out (how long has it been down?) or contact Zen and let them know there is a routing issue, and you cant access the bank.
     
  8. Slinwagh

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 6,034

    Location: Far far away....

    Tracing route to battlefield2.com [212.209.10.53]

    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.10.10.1
    2 37 ms 37 ms 37 ms gauss-dsl.zen.net.uk [62.3.82.18]
    3 38 ms 35 ms 35 ms deleuze-ge-0-1-0-1.hq.zen.net.uk [62.3.80.161]
    4 42 ms 36 ms 48 ms erazmus-ge-0-0-3-1.wh.zen.net.uk [62.3.81.130]
    5 38 ms 37 ms 36 ms gi10-0.mctbb1.Manchester.opentransit.net [193.251.251.201]
    6 45 ms 46 ms 48 ms po10-0.brsbb1.Bristol.opentransit.net [193.251.242.133]
    7 48 ms 49 ms 50 ms po8-0.loncr3.London.opentransit.net [193.251.243.37]
    8 49 ms 48 ms 50 ms so-6-0-0-0.loncr1.London.opentransit.net [193.251.242.170]
    9 46 ms 47 ms 45 ms POS3-0.BR1.LND9.ALTER.NET [146.188.50.145]
    10 46 ms 45 ms 46 ms so-0-2-0.TR1.LND9.ALTER.NET [146.188.7.241]
    11 84 ms 83 ms 82 ms so-6-0-0.TR2.STK2.ALTER.NET [146.188.7.33]
    12 85 ms 83 ms 82 ms so-2-0-0.XR2.STK3.ALTER.NET [146.188.11.233]
    13 85 ms 83 ms 82 ms POS10-0-0.GW3.STK3.ALTER.NET [146.188.10.6]
    14 171 ms 167 ms 156 ms 212.209.10.49
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.


    Trace complete.

    Or the HSBC still..........

    Tracing route to hsbc.co.uk [161.113.4.1]

    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms 4 ms <1 ms 10.10.10.1
    2 37 ms 36 ms 35 ms gauss-dsl.zen.net.uk [62.3.82.18]
    3 35 ms 36 ms 36 ms deleuze-ge-0-1-0-1.hq.zen.net.uk [62.3.80.161]
    4 38 ms 36 ms 38 ms erazmus-ge-0-0-3-0.wh.zen.net.uk [62.3.80.34]
    5 36 ms 37 ms 36 ms bolzano-ge-0-0-0-0.wh.zen.net.uk [62.3.80.50]
    6 37 ms 37 ms 37 ms 195.16.169.89
    7 36 ms 38 ms 38 ms so-6-1-0.mp2.Manchesteruk1.Level3.net [4.68.113.118]
    8 134 ms 129 ms 128 ms ae-0-0.bbr2.Chicago1.Level3.net [64.159.1.34]
    9 131 ms 128 ms 130 ms ae-21-52.car1.Chicago1.Level3.net [4.68.101.34]
    10 138 ms 137 ms 144 ms unknown.Level3.net [63.208.138.134]
    11 137 ms 140 ms 141 ms border5.ge2-0-bbnet1.chi.pnap.net [216.52.128.9]
    12 144 ms 142 ms 141 ms hsbctech-2.border5.chi.pnap.net [216.52.130.118]
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.

    Trace complete.
     
  9. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    Looks like your getting to the same router/firewall as me then, but I can see the site no problem. So its unlikely that Zen will be able to help with the issue. How long has it been like this. I guess its possible that Zen are using an webcache, and thats messing up the site, but I wouldnt count that as a high chance. Use CRTL+F5 when viewing the page which should attempt to overide any caches.

    Tracing route to 161.113.4.1 over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms cisco1.wyenet.co.uk [212.46.140.1]
    2 11 ms 13 ms 12 ms a41-bln4-wyenet2.thdoc.network-i.net [212.21.98.213]
    3 13 ms 11 ms 10 ms peer1.thdoc.network-i.net [212.21.96.6]
    4 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms lvl3gw.thn.packetexchange.net [212.187.197.193]
    5 16 ms 20 ms 15 ms so-1-3-0.gar2.London1.Level3.net [212.113.3.29]
    6 12 ms 15 ms 19 ms ae-32-54.ebr2.London1.Level3.net [4.68.116.126]
    7 91 ms 89 ms 98 ms ae-4.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.132.109]
    8 87 ms 94 ms 90 ms ae-1.ebr2.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.132.26]
    9 103 ms 113 ms 121 ms ae-2.ebr1.Chicago1.Level3.net [4.69.132.65]
    10 102 ms 107 ms 102 ms ae-11-51.car1.Chicago1.Level3.net [4.68.101.2]
    11 98 ms 114 ms 102 ms unknown.Level3.net [63.208.138.134]
    12 102 ms 98 ms 106 ms border5.ge2-0-bbnet1.chi.pnap.net [216.52.128.9]
    13 103 ms 103 ms 103 ms hsbctech-2.border5.chi.pnap.net [216.52.130.118]
    14 * * * Request timed out.
     
  10. Slinwagh

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 6,034

    Location: Far far away....

    I have just spoekn to Zen and they got me to chage the MTU setting on the router and now it works......
     
  11. Slinwagh

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 6,034

    Location: Far far away....

    And just as i say that its stopped working again!!
     
  12. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,313

    Location: Plymouth

    Have you tried entering http://161.113.4.1 into your browser?

    If it doesn't work...'tis a network issue somewhere - or your firewall is for some odd reason blocking that IP.
     
  13. CurlyWhirly

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 May 2003

    Posts: 1,429

    Location: UK

    That works for me after timing out the first time using Firefox.
    My ISP is Zen so it might be useful for the OP to know.