1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

do i need a thermal compound

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SameSuspect, 20 May 2006.

  1. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    this is the heatsink i have bought

    Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 CPU Cooler (Socket 754/939/940) (HS-020-AR)

    do i need to buy a thermal compound to go with it?? or can i just use it without adding anything??
     
  2. keef

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2006

    Posts: 444

    depends how quickly you wanna fry your cpu!
    yes, you always need thermal compound, dont waste your money and get cheap stuff either, get some arctic silver and be done!
     
  3. 4T5

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 27,746

    Location: Middle of England

    Yes mate you need paste and Arctic silver is the one to use.
    Do not be tempted to test/run without it.
     
  4. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,279

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    i'd change that if i were you. they are terrifically loud for their performance :(
     
  5. boosfuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Nov 2002

    Posts: 701

    Location: Warwickshire

    This heatsink comes with preapplied thermal compound (good stuff as well).
     
  6. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    ok thanx, better buy some of that arctic silver then. well glad i started this thread lol. when applying arctic silver, do i cover the whole cpu itself or just the gold square in the middle
     
  7. keef

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2006

    Posts: 444

    without fail on every cpu/heatsink i install the very first thing i do is to scrape off the crap compound on it and apply some nice as5, i know it is good stuff then, i wouldnt risk a serious overclock on the stuff that they put on. how do you know what is on it? ive never been able to find anything that tells me!
     
  8. keef

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2006

    Posts: 444

    just put it on the ihs.
     
  9. 4T5

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 27,746

    Location: Middle of England

    My preferred method is to cover my finger with a bit of cling film like plastic and then spread a rice grain piece of AS over the CPU.
     
  10. keef

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2006

    Posts: 444

    this man just saved you some very messy fingers! that stuff just doesnt wanna come off does it lol!i wasnt gonna say anything, everyone needs to get thermal compound all over themselves at least once! :D
     
  11. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound (3.5g) (AC-000-AC)

    for use between modern high-power CPUs and high performance heatsinks or water-cooling solutions

    my heatsink aint high performance, does it matter :confused:
     
  12. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    1st, the heatsink should come with its own gunk - tube or preapplied. Seems you've bought some AS5 so, makes sure you remove the preapplied thermal compund on the heatsink. Good guide on doing the latter & applying AS5 here :cool:
     
  13. keef

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2006

    Posts: 444

    no it doesnt matter, put that on it!
     
  14. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    Whateva chip you've got, you still need thermal compound/grease.
    AS5's just very good at doing the above comapred to others :)

    EDIT: Read more ;)
     
  15. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    thanx for the guide. sorted :)