1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

do i really need thermal cpu paste?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by da_mic_1530, 16 Jan 2006.

  1. da_mic_1530

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 8,580

    Location: Leeds

    basically ive got a 4 year old amd athlon 2400 + with retail heatsink and fan, i just wanna chuck it into my new shuttle, do i really need cpu thermal paste, as this will put my build back a few days, its not a gaming pc, just for playing music really hence the move into a shuttle case,

    Cheers
     
  2. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,781

    Location: Brighton

    Yes, you do. Try without it for a few days but do get some
     
  3. da_mic_1530

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 8,580

    Location: Leeds

    so il be ok for a few days, ok thats fine mate cheers

    il get some paste asap thou
     
  4. littlekates

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 130

    i would wait until you get thermal paste mate, without them your temp will be sky high. might damage your cpu in the process. better be on the safe size IMO.
     
  5. rxmac

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2005

    Posts: 648

    Location: Northants

    I agree the xp2400's do run quite warm and for the sake of a few days i personally don't think it is worth the riisk of frying your cpu.
     
  6. [Death]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 1,428

    Location: Gloucester, UK

    u will definately fry the cpu, u should never set up without thermal paste
     
  7. Goksly

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,626

    Location: Nottingham

    you will probably get away with it if you downclock it to 1ghz mark / under volt.
    Oh and dont run prime95 :p
     
  8. chopchop

    Banned

    Joined: 14 Jun 2004

    Posts: 6,118

    just smear abit of the old stuff around abit, if its the hard stuff, then dont bother, it'll be ok as long as you aint overclocking it.
     
  9. Solouko

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Aug 2005

    Posts: 598

    Location: North wales near Rhyl

    You could alwyas try sslipping it, you'd get great contact between the core and the heat sink if you polised it, but i'm guessing that if you dont have thermal paste, you're not going to have the means to polish the heat sink :p
     
  10. Xplo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,649

    Location: UK

    Dont use it without Thermal paste very important
     
  11. aardvark

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 8,095

    Location: leeds

    without paste you can pretty much kiss your cpu goodbye - why risk it?
     
  12. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,781

    Location: Brighton

    Load of rubbish tbh, for a few days and without the cpu being stressed it should be fine without any paste. Like i said you will need to get some at some point though.
     
  13. dale1uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,164

    Location: Newcastle

    I wouldn't run the risk for a few days is it really worth it??

    But if you do fry it let me know and I might sell you my 3200 to help fund an upgrade ;) :D
     
  14. Solouko

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Aug 2005

    Posts: 598

    Location: North wales near Rhyl

    you're not really funding an upgrade if you're selling him the upgrade :p
     
  15. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,695

    Location: London

    Hi,

    haha some people get so carried away and *exagerate* things

    i.e:

    *OMG!! DUDE!!!! Your house will burn down and your crops will fail for seven years!!!!!!!!!!" :eek:

    Yes you can run your cpu *without* any thermal goops applied, it will just run hotter.

    Heat is not a problem until you reach a certain temperature (60°C +) Most people who post on these forums (including myself) are obsessed with the ancient art known as *over-cooling* ;)
     
  16. matt_fsr

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Jul 2005

    Posts: 5,710

    Location: Durham

    Owned one of these for a few years, and yeah theyre toasty little blighters at times - ive seen a mate fry an XP2000 after about 6 months without thermal paste - you not got a PC shop nearby?

    I personally wouldnt risk it just incase.

    *sweet memories of the smell of a Cyrix 233 @ 667*
     
  17. lemonkettaz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2005

    Posts: 12,161

    it also acts as a cushion. it gets pretty tight down there.

    p.s. dont do it
     
  18. hogfather

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,074

    Location: Sarrrf London

    my xp2000 is running at 60 C idle, WITH cpu compound! :eek:

    damn antec aria....
     
  19. dale1uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,164

    Location: Newcastle

    lol should of worded it different, would be funding MY upgarde ;)
     
  20. a1ex2001

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Mar 2005

    Posts: 13,898

    Location: Here and There...

    I'd pop to a local computer store and buy some cheap stuff just to be on the safe side, plus it will save you taking the shuttle apart again.