1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do modern MOBOs have ATA IDE as well as SATA?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Participant, 17 Jun 2006.

  1. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: 13 May 2003

    Posts: 32,045

    Location: Warwickshire

    I currently have 2 x 120Gb WD Caviar ATA drives on two IDE channels. When I upgrade (in the near future) I plan to have two 150Gb Raptors in RAID 0 for system and games, and use these other two for data storage of My Documents backup, MP3s, videos etc.

    Will I be able to do this or do modern mobos not allow for ATA IDE HDDs?
     
  2. benjo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 12,779

    Location: London

    I'm sure they do, otherwise nobody could use optical drives :)
     
  3. IamMed

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,161

    Location: Porthcawl (S.Wales)

    all ATX motherboards I have seen recently still have at least 2 IDE channels

    then usually 4 sata channels as well
     
  4. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    I've seen a few Intel boards with only 1 IDE. But I doubt they'll phase out IDE connectors anytime soon. Hell, FD connectors are still there...
     
  5. A1ex

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 34

    You can get adapters to run your IDE devices from the SATA ports.
     
  6. BUFF

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2006

    Posts: 2,883

    Location: Glasgow

    I believe that Intel want to in the next round of chipsets ...

    nForce5 only has 1 IDE channel as well.
     
  7. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: 13 May 2003

    Posts: 32,045

    Location: Warwickshire

    Ok thanks peeps. So the message is that it'll probably have one, but if it doesn't, use an adaptor!
     
  8. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Cant see many OEMs using SATA drives (let alone optical ones)...
     
  9. masterk

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 5,885

    We havent had a prebuilt PC in in the last year that wasnt using SATA for the HDD. Dell, Fujitsu, HP, Toshiba, all using SATA now in systems they build.
     
  10. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Must be the el cheapos then....
     
  11. masterk

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 5,885

    They are so cheap now there is no reason to use IDE anymore.
     
  12. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: 13 May 2003

    Posts: 32,045

    Location: Warwickshire

    No reason at all? Are you sure? :rolleyes: Think about what you say.

    What about those that have large IDE drives and cannot currently afford to get the equivalent sized SATA drives. I would and can except I like my IDE drives and for storage they don't need to be any faster than ATA.
     
  13. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,514

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    hold up, robbie G you need to think about it. He's right there is no need to use it anymore. Sata drives are pence more expensive than their ata counterparts, making the chocie for a new drive a no-brainer. if you have ide drives that you still want to use then the channels are there. By the time they do away with IDE completely, there wont be many ide drives left.
     
  14. Deathwish

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,956

    Location: Cold Scotland :(

    Yep, Intel 965 chipsets dont have any IDE channels. Mobo makers that want to include IDE are using 3rd party chipsets such as JMicron or Promise etc.