1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do the core have bad contact with the IHS?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by sablabra, 15 Aug 2006.

  1. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    Hi. I've been suspecting the IHS on my x2 3800+ to have bad contact with the core for a long time. Core 1 always fails before core 2 in prime95, so I now checked the temp in everst ultimate. It turned out core 1 is a lot warmer than core 2. Do you guys think the core have bad contact with the IHS? I've been wanting to remove it for some time, but don't have the guts to do it, nor do I have anything to train with :D


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 15 Aug 2006
  2. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,521

    Location: Midlands

    yes mate bad heatspredder contact there. chop off the heat spreadder but make sure first that your cpu cooler will work with the heat spredder removed. if you have something like the big typhoon that uses mounting brackets then you will have no problem since you can just tighten up the bolts more to get the contact better.
     
  3. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    I have a swiftech Apogee, do you know if it will fit nicely?
     
  4. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,521

    Location: Midlands

    if it uses nuts and bolts to attach to the cpu then yes it will work. if it uses the pressure clip thingy then you will get problems.
     
  5. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    Nah, it's screwed in place with a spring inbetween...

    But I'm not sure if I want to remove it... Anyone else here who have removed their IHS from x2 3800+?(or similar cpus?)
     
  6. MikeTimbers

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,465

    Location: New Eltham, London

    Big thread on this stickied in the CPU section here.

    It really isn't too hard. I did mine with a razor blade and it took a couple of minutes. The trick is to cut slowly and without too much pressure. Start with the corners, then go down the sides.

    however, before you do that, are you sure both cores were being equally idle or stressed? You need to run two stress test programs to make both cores run at load. if you install prime95 in two directories and run both, does the difference in core temps remain?
     
  7. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    yes
     
  8. Hesky82

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,405

    Location: Worcestershire

    each core has its own independent temp sensor??? and everst can monitor each. I did not know that!!!!
     
  9. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    Me didn't know either, until now :p

    Anyway, here are two more shots to show the difference:

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    And as I said, core 1 ALWAYS fail a lot before core 2, which is really annoying...
     
  10. Creidiki

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Nov 2005

    Posts: 199

    Location: Edinburgh/Milan

    Dont believe coretemp.

    According to it one of my cores idles at temperatures below ambient (not to mention below coolant) :rolleyes:
     
  11. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    I know that, especially since I have a dfi expert :D
     
  12. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,637

    Location: Surrey

    its highly unlikely you have a core idling at 22 degrees.. coretemp tells me much the same about my 3800, with a hastily fitted freezer64 pro it says one of them is idling now at 29 degrees which given the fact my house feels about level with my body temp right now is almost impossible.
     
  13. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    I know it's wrong, but it's still a big difference, right?
     
  14. Hesky82

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,405

    Location: Worcestershire

    Hum, according to everst, I'm getting a difference of 10C between cores. core one being the hotter running core and core one is always the 1st to fail for me to.
    Funny thing is I can leave core 2 burning away and it still runs cooler than core 1 :confused:
    like Creidiki says, I'm not sure how accurate coretemp is.

    either way I should have my ihs removed already lol
     
  15. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,521

    Location: Midlands

    remove the heatspreadder and then run the test. im sure the cores will be both level in temps and clock a silly amount higher.
     
  16. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    Hmm, could be some kind of bug then? :confused:
    What mobo you got?

    Actually I had added 10c to the core temp. I turned that off, so now I'm about 5c under ambient :D

    [​IMG]
     
  17. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    Yeah, I want to do that, but I'm affraid I will destroy the cpu. Either by chopping off resistors, or cracking the core :(
     
  18. snowdog

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,553

    Location: Netherlands


    RMA it, say its unstable and show them pictures of it (core 1) overheating (if needed)
    And hope they will send u a correctly working one...

    If impossible to RMA or you dont want to, then its either remove the ihs or live with one overheating core...
     
  19. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    Well, it's not exactly unstable, it's 100% prime95 stable up to 2.5ghz at stock volts... So I don't think I will have a good chance in RMAing it :p
     
  20. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    I seriously can not believe the difference in temperature here! :eek:
    In this pic I'm only stressing core 2(core 1 is called core 0 in prime95, core 2 is called core 1 :p ), and still core 1 is 24c warmer!! Also, when the cpu is nice and heated like now, the second I start stress testing core 1, the computer hangs... The second I start it! So this means I can might gain up to 200mhz by removing the IHS? :D I'm running 2.8ghz 24/7, although core 1 isn't prime95 stable... Core 2 seems to be very stable at 2.9ghz, haven't tested further(will certainly do now!)

    [​IMG]