1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do these numbers look good to you?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Jaffacake106, 8 Mar 2010.

  1. Jaffacake106

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Feb 2010

    Posts: 31

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    Now, Ive never overclocked anything before in my life and ive just attempted overclocking my i7 920, following guides on the internet, Do these numbers look ok to you and am i missing anything? please bare in mind im a complete novice :) It looks to me like ive hit 3.6 GHz however not sure about other factors involved, Im using Rampage 2 extreme mb

    Any advice or feedback would be gratefully recieved.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. UnworthyBean

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2009

    Posts: 2,461

    You might be able to knock a few .'s of a volt off the Vcore but it looks fine. Have you checked temperatures?
     
  3. Jaffacake106

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Feb 2010

    Posts: 31

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    Well im gtting around 34oC at idle and hits the 40oC mark when playing games, mind you thats just using the pc probe software that came with my motherboard so not sure how reliable that it mate
     
  4. setter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    Id download coretemp to keep an eye on temps.

    http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

    And, as mentioned above, try dropping the core voltage down a bit, as an example, i can run my i7 on 1.18 vcore all the way to 3.6ghz, only need a jump to 1.2750 for 4ghz.

    EDIT:, Meant to say 1.18 for 3.6ghz, 3.8ghz and 4ghz ran on 1.2750.
     
    Last edited: 8 Mar 2010
  5. Jaffacake106

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Feb 2010

    Posts: 31

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    Thanks setter
     
  6. Jaffacake106

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Feb 2010

    Posts: 31

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    Ok seems to be hotter than the previous software i was using im getting mid 40's close to 50's at times???
     
  7. setter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    Is that at idle?
     
  8. UnworthyBean

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2009

    Posts: 2,461

    Yeah, PC Probe is rubbish. Also download Prime95 to stress your system fully.
     
  9. Jaffacake106

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Feb 2010

    Posts: 31

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    OK dropped the core voltage down to 1.264 and my temps have dropped to around 40oC idle using coretemp, does that seem normal?
     
  10. setter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

  11. setter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    40c is fine at idle, load temps are the ones to watch out for.