1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

does artic silver paste deteroate?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by snarloas1982, 18 Feb 2006.

  1. snarloas1982

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,022

    Location: belfast

    when i first put on the paste to my p4 3.2 it sat idle at 26 degrees and around 36 load, i overclocked it to around 3.8 and it ran sweet for ages. the other day i tried it at 3.2 again and im getting 30 idle and 50 load. at 3.4g's i get the same temp, its not until i go around the 3.6 mark the idle and load temps rise a good bit. i was just wondering would it be a good idea to clean the cpu and apply new paste
     
  2. Tarty

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Jan 2006

    Posts: 166

    Location: England-Kent

    Afaik AS doesn't deteriorate.. might be dust and/or something else that you've modified in your case?
     
  3. snarloas1982

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,022

    Location: belfast

    cheers il give it a good clean later
     
  4. Tarty

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Jan 2006

    Posts: 166

    Location: England-Kent

    Thinking about it chemically, silver doesn't oxidise, so there is no way it can :)
     
  5. cossey3

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2003

    Posts: 767

    silver does oxidise (tarnish) and AS does deteriorate over time. however dust is usually the main cause of increased temps.
     
  6. DaZzZa

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,618

    Location: Peterlee

    will probly just be changs in your room temp or dust clogging things up
     
  7. Mr Paul

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,511

    Location: Reading UK

    AS does loose some thermal transfer properties when its fully dried out.
     
  8. Chris19

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Dec 2005

    Posts: 572

    AS5 does have an 200 hour break in period and on thier site i think they say it takes an fair bit of time for it to dry
     
  9. fullfat

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: Nottingham

    when it does dry, is it easy to remove? or does it set hard? as ive been a muppet and put a shed load on my cpu right now and im worrying about removing it when i need to as ill probably pull straight out the socket :(
     
  10. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    I wouldn't worry about it. Change it every 6 months or so if it bothers you :D
     
  11. cossey3

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2003

    Posts: 767

    AS is very easy to remove if you use some alcohol based solvent.
     
  12. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,395

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    it contains silver oxide already. there's no actual silver in it
     
  13. fullfat

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: Nottingham

    not when youve lathered it all over the cpu and stuck a great big heatsink (xp120) on it, the suction is quite incredible :(
     
  14. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,395

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    it is lol. twice ive pulled an a64 out of the socket because the paste just welded the Hs to it lol
     
  15. Mr Mister

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,670

    just give it a bit of a twist rather than pulling it straight off.
     
  16. Agent WD40

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2005

    Posts: 710

    Problem is is if you are using the stock cooler you can't twist it... ;)
     
  17. BlackAqua

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Oct 2005

    Posts: 144

    Live and learn from that, ripped it out myself with that stupid stock cooler.