1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drag n drop

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by /\ndy, 13 Jul 2006.

  1. /\ndy

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Jan 2006

    Posts: 754

    Location: Ayy

    Hey everyone,

    i recently got a new HDD, and was just wondering.

    The HDD that am using right now (WD 80GB IDE), has an installation of windows xp home, could i drag and drop from that HDD instead of having to backup data using dvd's etc?
     
  2. sanofi

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,849

    Location: Vienna

    If you have both HDD installed then you can just cut and paste data from the old drive to the new drive.

    However this won't work for moving an OS installation and may not work if you try to move installed applications.
     
  3. Hyper

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,535

    Location: Newcastle

    There is software that you can get that clones one hdd to another. Cant remember the name though. Someone will know ;)
     
  4. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    Norton Ghost or Acronis Trueimage ;)
     
  5. iMacMart

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Jun 2006

    Posts: 11,532

    Location: Hertfordshire

    I use Norton Ghost, at home and @ work, its very good ;)