Driving in snow

box

box

Associate
Well, with the prospect of driving to work in quite a bit of snow tomorrow, I was wondering what peoples' recommendations were on getting there as safely as possible. Things like driving slowly and defensively are taken for granted, but are there any additional precautions you would take? Is there any benefit to deflating the tyres slightly for example?

Reason I'm asking...I have little experience of driving in icy/snowy conditions. Just wondered what people would recommend.

I thought this was a bit too GD to be in the Motors forum, but feel free to move it if needs be!

Thanks for any info!

Soldato
Much better advice will be given in Motors :p

Erm, I don't know really apart from the obvious brake very early rather than getting to the junction and finding out your car won't slow down.

Pull off in 2nd gear if you can't get any grip.

Man of Honour
Good thread, I could do with some tips as well. I'm driving to Worcester tommorrow, some 180 miles, and I've not actually driven in snow before. My car is also less than suitable for snow, really :p

Soldato
[TW]Fox;13406219 said:
Good thread, I could do with some tips as well. I'm driving to Worcester tommorrow, some 180 miles, and I've not actually driven in snow before. My car is also less than suitable for snow, really :p

Oh God. Prepare for your car to try and kill you at every given oppourtunity

Soldato
Obviously taking things a bit easier is always advisable, although when I was out before I saw a few gritters out (and my car is now covered in grit.. fantastic!) so you shouldn't have too many problems on the main roads if you take it easy.

RJC

RJC

Don
Like Gilly said, use a high gear as possible and take it steady, easier said than done! :eek:

I got the fun of driving to work tomorrow.

Soldato
[TW]Fox;13406219 said:

Have you avoided doing so in the past or not had the opportunity?

I used to love it in my old cars, but in the Z4 it can be a bit of an experience. :D