1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DS4, Conroe and 2gb - advice

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Slogan, 15 Aug 2006.

  1. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,687

    Hello,

    Apologies for making another thread on memory. But I recently had to RMA some GSkill RAM because it didn't like the comfy housing of my motherboard slots.

    I'm now left with a new computer with no RAM and am a bit cautious in regards to what to get next - GSkill at the time seemed like a good idea and Geil seems to be pretty popular among most people - but I've got a niggling thought in the back of my mind that I should just play it safe with some Corsair XMS2.

    DDR2 and 800Mhz is the sort of range I'm in at the moment. Anyone running a Conroe (E6600) and a Gigabye DS4 have RAM that simply works?

    The GSkill stuff I had was good RAM (HZ, I believe) but it was clocking up over 1000, sometimes 2000 errors on MemTest - so obviously something wasn't right there.

    I'm hoping to buy within the next hour so need some advice as soon as possible - otherwise I may be forced to wait until next week. :eek:

    Thanks.
     
  2. Servo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Cumbria

    GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC6400 800MHz Ultra Low Latency DDR2 Dual Channel Kit (GX22GB6400UDC) (MY-058-GL)


    I have the cheaper one's 667 running @ 470 with +.3
     
  3. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,231

    Location: Rutland

    Seconded, absolutely fantastic value, great clockers :)
     
  4. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,687

    Cheers for the reply, Servo.

    Notice they're on special offer as well - quite tempting. At the same time, I'm a bit torn given the Corsair RAM.

    I have a stick running in this rig and it's been absolutely sound in the whole time I've had it.

    I notice that GSkill and Geil are 'described' as the overclockers choice of RAM - does this mean you have to overclock the RAM to get the best out of it or that it's just easier overclocked?
     
  5. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,231

    Location: Rutland

    They're great at stock speeds, better than the Corsair due to the tighter timings, and clock high too if you ever feel the need.
     
  6. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,687

    Cheers, Dave.

    I'll chance my arm with the Geil then - so long as it works as it should; I'll be happy.
     
  7. Servo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Cumbria

    If I was buying again, without a shadow of doubt it would be the geil, these have been proven to work on the ds4, plus as Minstadave says' there's alot more scope for overclocking.
     
  8. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,687

    Well, I was pretty disappointed with the GSkill RAM, as I know a lot of people have good things to say about them - but these things happen.

    Especially with something as new as the Conroe and it's motherboards.
     
  9. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,231

    Location: Rutland

    I think the problems with the Gskill are part them setting the SPD too tight and Gigabyte not allowing enough boot up voltage, daft really.