1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

dual core Intel have now become very affordable!

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Super Tigers, 4 Mar 2006.

  1. Super Tigers

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,925

    Location: Hull, UK

    Pentium d805 90mn process 2x1mb cache 2.67ghz, 533mhz fsb and retail boxed with 3 years warranty are now on sale for £95inc vat. Pretty good price for a cpu that clocks upto 3.8-4.0ghz on stock cooling. Looks like this may tempt a few clockers back over to the dark side.

    If I didn't have a skt 754 amd 3000+ that o/c to 2.7ghz I would be in the market for one of these.

    Rob H
     
  2. Mul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,842

    that indeed is very tempting with that price tag. May consider one for my server. Now all I need is a a Dual Core Ready mATX board under £60 :confused:

    Mul
     
    Last edited: 4 Mar 2006
  3. Sanzy

    Banned

    Joined: 12 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,117

    Location: Forget About It

    are these cpus ( Pentium d805 ) for sale now ? caus i cant find them
     
  4. Mul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,842

    yep, on sale right now between £88 and £117.

    Mul
     
  5. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,790

    Location: Autonomy

    These are the 90nm P4 D version so will not clock the same as the 65nm 900 series.

    So I doubt they will clock as good.
     
  6. Mul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,842

    From reviews they are hitting about 3.7Ghz, which for a £90 dual core chip, I don't think thats bad at all.

    Mul
     
  7. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,790

    Location: Autonomy


    Got a link to a review?
    I will be getting one if 3.7ghz is on air.The smithfields run hot.
    cheers
     
  8. Mul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,842

  9. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    You can get them for £99 (including p&p and vat). Stupidly low price tbh.
     
  10. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,790

    Location: Autonomy



    Asrock 775TWINS-HDTV skt 775 ATI Radeon Express 200 1066FSB X300 VGA PCI-E SATA RAID +LAN +USB2.0 +8 ch. audio micro ATX can be had for £45

    :)
     
  11. Mul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,842

    fantastic, Thankyou! :D

    Mul
     
  12. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,775

    Location: Brighton


    how does it clock though? Cos this just became damned tempting :/
     
  13. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,790

    Location: Autonomy


    just been reading a review and the overclocking options are not outstanding but where given 7/10.

    I think to get the best from the chip a better overclocking mobo might be in order.
     
  14. Super Tigers

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,925

    Location: Hull, UK

    The asrock twins board does feature both ddr and ddr2 slots and also supports 533mhz/800mhz and 1066mhz bus speeds, so it is very future proof. pcexpress slots, onboard ati videocard and component output as well.

    check out the review here:

    test review of the 775twins

    Hope this helps

    Rob H
     
  15. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,775

    Location: Brighton

    I could build a dual core small form factor rig for £300 :D

    gah that asrock is single channel
     
    Last edited: 4 Mar 2006
  16. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    I have had that Asrock mobo and it has good and bad points, good points being able to take ddr + ddr2 and also having component out, it also runs most of the intel chips.

    Bad points being when they say limited overclocking they mean no voltage options for the cpu :( , still took my 3ghz Celeron D to 4.1ghz though, but if that dual core wants some volts it wont get them from that asrock board, I sent it back and swapped it for a AA8XE.
     
  17. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,790

    Location: Autonomy

    the AA8XE doesn't support the cpu in question :confused:
     
  18. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    Nope, sorry should have explained that, I was never intent on running a dual core yet, will be using single until abit get a 975X board out.
     
  19. Mul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,842

    so the board is capable of cranking up the FSB without instability but it is just Vcore which is restricting? I shouldn't think anyone would be cranking vcore up much (i.e. More than 1.5-1.55) with the P-d anyway unless on watercooling or higher?

    Mul
     
  20. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    Yeah but the problem is the board doesnt crank up more than 1.375v lol :)