1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual Core Really Nessersary?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by demon8991, 26 Feb 2006.

  1. demon8991

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,414

    Location: Gold Coast, Australia

    I have not spent any money on my computer for a while now but have noticed that nothing currently is beyond it, gaming wise.

    Spec

    AMD Barton Xp 3200+
    2GB Crucial 3200 Ram
    Abit NF7 v2.0 Motherboard
    ATI Radeon X800 XT Platinum Edition 256mb
    460w Enermax Psu
    200gb Western Digital 7200rpm 8mb Cache Hard Drives (1 x 120gb, 1 x 80gb)
    Sound Blaster Live 5.1 Sound Card
    Antec PlusView 1000AMG Case

    17" Hyundai Flat Screen
    Logitech Z-2200 THX® Certified 2.1 200 Watts Speakers
    Logitech MX500
    Logitech Internet Keyboard
    Icemat 2nd Edition
    Pipex 1Mb ADSL

    That is the spec of all the computer equipment i use for gaming, i an play all the newest games at full spec at high fps. I was just wondering have games and software hit a limit becuase i cant justify massive amounts of money on a new computer.
     
  2. Nazbit

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,870

    Hi there, no your right dual core isnt needed in gaming, its just that a lot of people get carried away wanting the best, dual core is only really needed for multitasking etc.

    Like you say, that machine is fine for gaming, although the cpu could be a bottleneck limiting your ram and your gfx performance. It may begin to struggle in the near future purley because of your cpu.

    I know you dont want to invest hudge money in it but If I was you I would look to spend a couple of hundred on a new cpu and mobo. Your machine is fine for the moment, but I would just be looking to future proof it a little bit,
    Athlon 64 3500+ Venice, £121.95, Gigabyte K8NSC-939 nF3 250GB (Socket 939) Motherboard £44.95 , Total £196.11

    Big improvement, pretty cheap I would say?
     
  3. Eliminos

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Jan 2006

    Posts: 173

    'i can play all the newest games at full spec at high fps'

    I somehow doubt that, as I had a very similar rig which struggled with Battlefield 2 on lowest settings. I can't play FEAR at full settings with the specs in my sig at 1280x960.

    As for Dual Core, yes, it is very necessary. Games are going to be moving towards multi-threading, as we can see in Quake 4. Having two cores in that significantly increases performance, and I cannot see other games companies stand by when they could increase performance in their games too.

    Dual core is absolutely necessary for future proofing your computer. As we can see in the new AM2 processors. AMD have only allocated 2 'gaming' single core processors, and 6 'gaming' dual core processors.

    So its not just us that think that, its the companies too.
     
  4. demon8991

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,414

    Location: Gold Coast, Australia

    I didnt say anything about future proofing i was talking about now.

    Dual core has been around a while and no games can boast about utilising dual core properly yet.

    As for battlefield 2 thats just unlucky mine runs fine AA 4x etc all texture settings on full etc.
     
  5. iraiguana

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,599

    I would say for gaming no its not important yet, mainly people are getting it now simply to future proof their nice new expensive pc, as vista and future games will allow for its use.
     
  6. mmj_uk

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 24,986

    Quake 4 has a patch but the difference is pathetic really, I've tested myself!

    You only really get any decent performance gain (~20%) by running in super-low resolution but you don't buy a dual core cpu to do that!!

    You're probably better off getting a faster single core unless you do heavy multitasking or video editing etc. otherwise just hold off for the Intel Conroe rather than buying a dual core athlon now.
     
    Last edited: 26 Feb 2006
  7. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    If games are running fine for you then there is no need to upgrade.
    But i suspect that pc would struggle with FEAR on high settings.
    Soon enough i suspect it will be upgrade time & at that time dual core will be a good option.
     
  8. clv101

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,725

    Location: Bristol

    I never really saw the point in future proofing - why not wait until the performance is actually needed and the hardware is cheaper? :confused:
     
  9. The Running Man

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,252

    Location: block 16, cell 12

    dont get sucked in. 10fps here and there is not worth hundreds of pounds, if u can play smoothly and with good reliability atm.
     
  10. StarShock

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,805

    My old system was definately not up to handeling the latest games... I put a dual core in my new one so I wouldn't have to upgrade for at least a couplw of years, with that in mind yes it is necessary for this system to have dual core


    the problem with upgradeing your machine to just above what you need is that you'll have to upgrade every time a new game comes out... the goal posts are constanly moving in this game
     
  11. Eliminos

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Jan 2006

    Posts: 173

    So you can play it at full settings? ... I'm guessing thats 800x600... or more likely 640x480?
     
  12. demon8991

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,414

    Location: Gold Coast, Australia

    Exactly my philosophy, only upgrade when you really need to and you will save hundreds.

    Ummmmm no, i run them at 1280 x 1024 thankyou, obviously i run fear at less but thats a crap game so i dont play it. HL2 and CSS run on full spec no probs.