1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual-wan software solution?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by tsj, 30 May 2006.

  1. tsj

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2004

    Posts: 1,054

    Location: United Kingdom

    are there any free or cheap Dual-wan solutions? ive got 2x 10mbit lines and ive been using wingate for it and it worked a treat until the trial expired... but no looking for a alternative cheaper or free option... if anyone can help me out would be great...

    Thanks
    ---
    tsj
     
  2. FordPrefect

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,715

    Linux should be able to offer the functionality you require for free, cant remember how its done now though sorry. Your other options are proprietry pay software on windows or a new router.
     
  3. hybrid

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,312

    Location: Newcastle

    Interesting...

    So you basically want to bridge both connections together?

    I think smoothwall might be something to look into tbh.
     
  4. tsj

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2004

    Posts: 1,054

    Location: United Kingdom

    interesting but i didnt really want to change my os tbh mate :(
    wingate works on windows but i wanted anotehr software...
     
  5. tsj

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2004

    Posts: 1,054

    Location: United Kingdom

    yep mate if thats *** its called brdige :)

    i had it running before with wingate getting 20mb/sec constant but trial expired now
     
  6. hybrid

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,312

    Location: Newcastle

    You wouldnt need to change your OS. It runs on another machine altogether... if its just for home use a wee 233, 333 cyrix box would cover it ;)

    Never actually seen how wingate works tbh so i cant think of any other solutions.
     
  7. tsj

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2004

    Posts: 1,054

    Location: United Kingdom

    umm ok ill have a think might just pay for wingate because i will probably be getting another 2 10mbit lines soon anyway so software may be better for 40mbit
     
  8. zetec452

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 15 Sep 2003

    Posts: 9,454

    How much is wingate?

    You could get a hardware loadbalaner solution such as a ZyXell ZyWall 35. Not exactly cheap though but excellent hardware.
     
  9. hybrid

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,312

    Location: Newcastle

    Wow!! Thats one expensive bit of kit lol.

    Doubt he'll want to spend that much mind.
     
  10. tsj

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2004

    Posts: 1,054

    Location: United Kingdom

    lol i need software solution i got so much read me powering right now like 3 computers a laptop a tv a xbox a cable box a 5.1 sound system 3 phones 3 modems a router a loads more i cant just handle any more read me in my room...
     
  11. tsj

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2004

    Posts: 1,054

    Location: United Kingdom

    Ok all sorted now i got wingate running now... Perfect recieveing a constant 2200kb/sec :)
     
  12. iamgud

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,780

    Location: UK

    You are gonna need some Linux skills or buy a "Dual WAN Router". Google shows quite a few, but you are looking at about £200. Also it isn't going to be perfect. As each connection has a different IP address they usually work by setting certain ports through different connections or opening up the 2nd connection when the first gets full.

    Goood luck.
     
  13. tsj

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2004

    Posts: 1,054

    Location: United Kingdom

    read my last post... using wingate software solution mate :)
    working fine
     
  14. zetec452

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 15 Sep 2003

    Posts: 9,454

    Sounds good dude. :)