1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

DUD 5870?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by rancid_elf, 25 Sep 2009.

  1. rancid_elf

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 245

    Hummm I am starting to wonder about this card.

    My temps even when starting the machine up from being off for 12 hours are idle at 60. I have ran the fans at 100% for last 15 minutes and it has finally stabalized temps on idle between 49 - 50.

    Any suggestions?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. craig3000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,398

    Might need to re-seat the heatsink, happened to me with my 4850, you'd probably need to buy some thermal paste if you dont have any costs about £4

    Apart from that I have no Idea unless you want to RMA it
     
  3. rancid_elf

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 245

    Yeah got plenty of artic 5 here. Someone in another thread had similar problems I believe and solved it by ( as he put it ) supplying more volts to the exhaust fans.

    If you read this that guy could you explain what you did :) Thanks
     
  4. Tom|Nbk

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Mar 2006

    Posts: 22,465

    Location: England

    RMA it.
     
  5. Tom|Nbk

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Mar 2006

    Posts: 22,465

    Location: England

    Hey yea that was me, it wasn't the 5870 fan, it was my case fans that were the trouble, they were only set at 5v speed which is barely turning the fans and hence very little airflow through my case. I only realised the other day!
     
  6. Calneon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,682

    Try load temps?
     
  7. craig3000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,398

    For me the least traumatic experience would be to res-seat the heat sink with the artic 5 you got there

    -Simple
    -Takes 15mins max
    -Shouldn't void warranty, there not gonna know

    Whereas if you RMA you won't have it for a week, can you live without it ;)
     
  8. antipacker

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Feb 2008

    Posts: 266

    oh oh dodgy ATI
     
  9. Tom|Nbk

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Mar 2006

    Posts: 22,465

    Location: England

    No, if it was second hand, perhaps. This is a new product and not working normally. RMA it to the store who will have to replace it.
     
  10. craig3000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,398

    Ok I will say it differently, if it was me I would re-seat :p just because Im inpatient :D
     
  11. Tom|Nbk

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Mar 2006

    Posts: 22,465

    Location: England

    fair enough. I'd want a brand new replacement but then I'm fussy like that :p

    Reseating also may not work, it could be a broken heatpipe or something!
     
  12. antipacker

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Feb 2008

    Posts: 266

    RMA it m8 dont chance voiding your warranty its such an expensive card not worth the risk.
     
  13. Tom|Nbk

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Mar 2006

    Posts: 22,465

    Location: England

    On a side note, the fan at 100% runs at 4600 RPM, holy hell.
     
  14. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 22,182

    Location: Guernsey (In lockdown from 23.01.21)

    Does it say the same temp in the ATI driver software ??
    (That if the ATI driver software show the temp)


    Plus what PC case are you using ?
     
  15. Tom|Nbk

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Mar 2006

    Posts: 22,465

    Location: England

    It does, I think GPUZ is reading the wrong temp sensor though as the ATi temp software shows it about 5c lower.
     
  16. wiak

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 May 2008

    Posts: 188

    most cards idle at 60c so no problemo ;)
    graphics card can do 120c max so you got like 60c more to spend
     
  17. Broken Hope

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 9,052

    Location: Nottingham

    If you notice your card is idling at 400/1200 which is higher than a 5870 normally idles, I'm guessing you have multiple monitors enabled?

    Same issue was reported here and here it's intended that it uses more power per connected display as far as I know.
     
  18. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Nov 2004

    Posts: 9,833

    Location: UK

    Following those links he also has the higher idle temps with dual monitors. As asked earlier, what is the load temp?
     
  19. rancid_elf

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 245

    Ati Overdrive is showing same temp as gpu-z....well there is usually only about 1 in it.

    Under load its upto about 71-72.

    I do have an idea how I can add some more air into rear intake on the cards so im going to give that a go tomorrow and see how it goes.

    The case is an Akasa Eclipse. I think one of my probs is my 4 raptors. They sit in front of the intake and they run very hot. I am going to space them out better and replace the 120m intake fan ( its almost a couple of years old now ). Also not been running side panel fan so will enable that and have it push cold air in which sits near the rear of the gfx card.

    EDIT : Yes I have dual monitors. Will disable one and see if it makes any difference.
     
    Last edited: 25 Sep 2009
  20. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Nov 2004

    Posts: 9,833

    Location: UK

    72C under load then there is nothing wrong with it. If you had a bad mount it would show up under loads as well as idle.

    Do you have dual monitors connected?
     
    Last edited: 25 Sep 2009