1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd from comp to tv

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Amleto, 19 Jan 2006.

  1. Amleto

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Feb 2003

    Posts: 6,144

    I have just tried my s-vhs tv out from my 6800 (not le or gt or ...) and it is pap. No colour/questionable quality.

    I was wondering how else I could get the picture onto my tv - perhaps component would be better (the white red and yellow plugs)?

    If so, what kind of kit would I need? Top end sound card?

    :confused:


    TIA,
     
  2. Phil99

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,896

    Composite is the one with the yellow (video), white and red (audio) cables. It's generally regarded to be a fair bit lower quality than S-Video.

    What type of TV do you have? If it's not one of the latest flat panels/high end CRT then it's unlikely to have component input.

    A normal soundcard/onboard sound can handle audio just fine with a 3.5mm -> phono (red + white) cable.
     
  3. Amleto

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Feb 2003

    Posts: 6,144

    Are s-video and s-vhs the same?

    my flatscreen was reasonably cheap for a 28" widescreen hitachi. It has 2 scart, composite and s-vhs inputs.

    The audio is fine from my comp, it's the picture that I want to be able to get on my tv for films etc.
     
  4. Amp34

    Caporegime

    Joined: 25 Jul 2005

    Posts: 28,867

    Location: Canada

    Display properties> Settings> Advanced> GeForce 6800 Series GPU> Display settings (in sticky out bit)> "click" on tv> Device settings> select TV Format> advanced> then change the video out format to composite.

    This will change the screen from black and white to colour (it should have been on auto), dont ask me why it needs to be on composite when your using s-video but it does :confused:

    Anyway that should sort it out for you without having to change leads.
     
  5. Amleto

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Feb 2003

    Posts: 6,144

    cheers. :)
     
  6. VIRII

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 24 Jul 2003

    Posts: 30,259

    I had the same issue yesterday with onboard Nforce 2 graphics, deleting the drivers worked for me although I don't have any TV out options, might be time to update the drivers.