1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

E6400 or 7850BE

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Invaliduser, 9 Mar 2010.

  1. Invaliduser

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2003

    Posts: 196

    Location: Fareham, Hants

    just a quick one chaps....

    Im currently running an AMD 7850BE @ stock (because ive not done much overclocking in the past couple of years), but Ive got the offer of an E6400 (conroe).

    Now hopefully, I could get the C2D to 3ghz or so, and I wonder if so, which of the two (7850 or E6400) would you recommend I go with?

    many thanks all.
     
  2. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,347

    Location: Planet Earth

    TBH,if you already have an AMD motherboard you could replace the X2 7850 with a newer Athlon II or Phenom II processor.
     
  3. Invaliduser

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2003

    Posts: 196

    Location: Fareham, Hants


    cheers...its something to consider, but the key issue is one of 'nil cost' option for me (ie; if both are free, which is better)
     
  4. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,347

    Location: Planet Earth

    Are you getting a free motherboard for the E6400?
     
  5. Invaliduser

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2003

    Posts: 196

    Location: Fareham, Hants

    yep.
     
  6. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,347

    Location: Planet Earth

    The Intel E6400 has 2MB of L2 cache unlike the higher end E6000 series dual core processors.

    The 2MB L2 cache E4000 series is very similar in performance to the 2MB L2 E6000 series dual core processors AFAIK.

    Here is a comparison of the 2.6GHZ E4700 and the 2.7GHZ X2 7750:

    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/default.aspx?p=63&p2=90&c=1

    TBH,I would get both setups and overclock them both to 3GHZ and run a few benchmarks to see which is faster.
     
  7. Invaliduser

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2003

    Posts: 196

    Location: Fareham, Hants

    helpful reply..thanks :cool:
     
  8. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,824

    Location: Autonomy

    The C2D would be the faster PC

    What mobo is it?
     
  9. Invaliduser

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2003

    Posts: 196

    Location: Fareham, Hants

    not certain.

    Its an old evesham model (one of the top of the range ones from 2006 or so with that strange DaCApo con LCD case. If my memory serves me well, Evesham used to stick decent stuff in their PCs before they went bump.

    I suppose it can't be worse than the foxconn Im running the 7850 on atm though :p

    I'll dig up some more info and update the thread....
     
  10. Invaliduser

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2003

    Posts: 196

    Location: Fareham, Hants

    sorry for the delay in updating this...but details are

    E6600 chip (not the E6400 that i thought, even better its one of the nice Costa Rica versions!)
    Foxconn 975X mobo

    Am I right in assuming this is going to be better than my 7850BE (as above), both will be run with OCZ ReaperX PC6400 ram.


    as an aside, I was right about evesham sticking decent stuff in their PCs...Seasonic 600w PSU and Creative Fatality soundcard!
     
    Last edited: 25 Mar 2010
  11. I DON'T fancy boys

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2008

    Posts: 2,966

    yeah go with the e6600 and clock it
     
  12. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,190

    Location: Guildford

    E6600s aren't bad chips, Foxconn mobos can be alright... Guess you'll just have to give it a go and see what kind of OC you can get out of it.
     
  13. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,347

    Location: Planet Earth

    The E6600 has 4MB of L2 cache. The slightly slower 2.33GHZ E6550 is faster in most cases than an X2 7850+ it seems:

    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/default.aspx?p=61&p2=90&c=1

    I have a 975X based motherboard and you should be able to get to around 3GHZ to 3.2GHZ with an E6600 IMHO.

    However,make sure that you have a decent cooler.