1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

E8400 (3.6GHz) upgrade to Q9300 worth £85?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by d_brennen, 12 Apr 2010.

  1. d_brennen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jan 2009

    Posts: 16,407

    Location: Aquilonem Londinensi

    Been offered a Q9300 for £85, not sure of the stepping etc yet. Worth it? Any steppings to avoid and are these decent clockers? I've no intention to upgrade board and RAM yet...

    PC is mainly used for gaming. Have got 4GB DDR2 6400 and a HD4890
     
  2. CAPTAINBUMFLUFF

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2010

    Posts: 930

    Location: London

    Ye its worth £85 but mULTIplier is not that high so you will need decent board to overclock well, imo you should stick with e8400 and put the money towards a bigger upgrade in future
     
  3. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,190

    Location: Guildford

    Not too bad for the price but as said low multi, so make sure your board can hit a decent FSB and check what your RAM multiplier options are (unlinked would be best).
     
  4. Marine-RX179

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2010

    Posts: 14,343

    I would spend a bit more and try to get a Q9550 if I were you.

    Sidenote: Why is your E8400 only at 3.6GHz? It should be easily overclockable to 4GHz...
     
    Last edited: 12 Apr 2010
  5. d_brennen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jan 2009

    Posts: 16,407

    Location: Aquilonem Londinensi

    At 3.6 my cooler (Arctic freezer) can run passively <45c browsing and such :)

    The board, Biostar T something, isn't
    an overclocking beast but I have had 4.2 stable but that needed more voltage and made it 60c+
     
  6. Marine-RX179

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2010

    Posts: 14,343

    Well, if you have managed 4.2GHz stable before, then that is a decent enough overclocking board already.

    Sometimes the extra 200MHz on the top end require much more voltage than the frequency before it...may be you can overclock to 3.8-4.0GHz instead of 4.2GHz at a lower voltage?

    What vcore you are on? (Now and when you had 4.2GHz stable)
     
    Last edited: 13 Apr 2010
  7. Vir

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Netherlands

    60c for 4.2 on a E8400 is fine imo.
     
  8. Fallen god

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Oct 2008

    Posts: 6,685

    Location: London

    I think he meat 60c at low load so at full it could be alot more.
     
  9. krooton

    Caporegime

    Joined: 9 May 2004

    Posts: 27,162

    Location: Leafy outskirts of London

    Are you planning on running the quad passively? They put out more heat at the same clock compared to dual-cores.
     
  10. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,785

    Location: Wiltshire

    I don't think you'll see much benefit unless heavily using all cores.
     
  11. d_brennen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jan 2009

    Posts: 16,407

    Location: Aquilonem Londinensi

    Never planned to run the 8400 passive, just messing about with temp management and set the fans to start at 55c. As it is the CPU fan only starts when gaming, ripping a DVD or watching HD content.

    At >3.8 it seems to require quite a jump in voltage (3.6 is @ stock v) and the temps sit at 60c doing nowt (slow fan speed).

    I guess I don't need an upgrade, just got the itch :)
     
  12. Lanz

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Nov 2002

    Posts: 6,855

    Location: Romford

    In virtually all games the 8400 will be quicker, as you'll have trouble getting the Q9300 past 3.6ghz unless you have a good board and it also has lower cache per core.

    Only real upgrade worth considering is a Q9550 or Xeon x3360.
     
  13. 555BUK

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Feb 2007

    Posts: 3,322

    To be honnest. I do not notice much difference between my E3300 @ 4GHz (little brother of the E8400) and my i7 920 @ 3.8GHz. Sure, if I run benches the quad will be ~20% faster in CPU intensive games and >2x as fast at encoding, but most people do not encode much and 60fps is enough in games.

    I say stick with the E8400 unless you encode HD video a lot.

    The biggest upgrade I have ever made to a pc has been installing an SSD. Much better than a CPU step up in terms of overall system speed and Windows zippiness.
     
  14. Th3D0n

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jul 2007

    Posts: 1,840

    Location: Rochdale/whitworth

    yeh if you sell your E8400 for 65ish ( not sure what a E8400 is worth now) that means you get a good quad far a £20!:eek:
     
  15. Vir

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Netherlands

    Coming from a Xeon E3110 (E8400) I'd say stick with the E8400 for now and save up for a SSD or a bigger upgrade later. It's not worth it now.
     
  16. Phil2008

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 8,432

    I have had my [email protected] for 2yrs now and Im still as happy as when I bought it, as it still not showing any slowdowns with the latest games... Id say the E8400 cpu has been the best cpu Ive bought.
     
  17. ooEy

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Oct 2006

    Posts: 615

    Location: Cotswolds, Nr Cheltenham

    Got my 4Ghz E8400 paired with a 1000/1150 5850. No need to upgrade yet, even for BC2.

    Id suggest clocking to 4Ghz and saving for a new SSD and GFX down the line.
     
  18. Phil2008

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 8,432

    Yeah even my [email protected] doesnt struggle with BC2 at all.
     
  19. Simple_Steve

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Feb 2010

    Posts: 142

    Location: Sheffield, GB

    E8400 is much better than a Q9300. A Q9400 would have been debatable and a Q9550 would have got my vote, but if i were you I'd save your money for a bigger upgrade in the future. The wolfdale range are cracking CPU's even my E8200 keeps up with my GTS250 when oc'd a lil. One of the best CPU's i bought! wait till they sell the i7 960 on ebay for bargain prices mate.
     
  20. Gribs

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,342

    Location: Skipton

    Definately not. My Q9450 @ 3.4ghz doesn't feel much faster than my old E5200 @ 4ghz in most games.