1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

E8600 -> Q9650

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by neithcat, 21 Oct 2009.

  1. neithcat

    Associate

    Joined: 28 Nov 2008

    Posts: 55

    Should the change be made? I run my E8600 at 4.4ghz

    I wonder if new games would benefit from the quad

    It should improve multi-tasking in windows though it is already quick

    Your thoughts?
     
  2. 95thrifles

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 15 Nov 2008

    Posts: 6,970

    It largely depends on your usage?
    If main use is gaming then no, stick with the dual, if you do encoding/rendering or the like then yes go for the quad
     
  3. SkodaMart

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jul 2009

    Posts: 3,645

    Location: Manchester

    Don't do it! (Unless you would like me to have your E8600 that is!:D)
     
  4. neithcat

    Associate

    Joined: 28 Nov 2008

    Posts: 55

    it is nib @ £185 hard to resist
     
  5. Ross1234

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2007

    Posts: 4,843

    Location: London

    Get the q9550 instead. Its the same chip but lower clocked. Then overclock it ;)
     
  6. JonJ678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Dec 2008

    Posts: 10,371

    Location: England

    Comes with a 8.5 multi instead of 9 though, which can be irritating.

    I'd stick with the dual core in hindsight. I went e8400 to q9550, and it was better for virtual machines but otherwise I didn't notice the difference.
     
  7. chuck990

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Dec 2008

    Posts: 1,382

    Location: UK

    dont do it!!!!!! stik with the dual!
     
  8. SfnX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Apr 2009

    Posts: 1,134

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    very nice oc. id stick with it!
     
  9. neithcat

    Associate

    Joined: 28 Nov 2008

    Posts: 55

    I didn't do it. If it ain't broken don't fix it ^.^-b
     
  10. McstylisT

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 8 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,677

    Location: In Lockdown England

    With that high clocks it would be hard to justify it really. However since you could sell off the 8600 for a few £££ making the Q9650 much cheaper to buy. Could be good. But do not expect 4.4ghz though.

    Windows in general would be much quicker all round. Games would be no different. Poss even slower due to lower clocks.

    McT
     
  11. AgedIdiot

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Oct 2007

    Posts: 2,343

    Location: Gods County(Allegedly)

    Unless you can do it cheaply and be sure to get a decent Q9650 chip ; believe that better option is save for new i7 rig.

    Very few games coded/optimsed for the quads :(

    I did not follow my own advice a few months ago as I was impaitent so bought a new 9650 (turned out to be a good chip - vid 1.125- currently running on air at 4.05 with 1.185v & with I believe further head room) - no complaints/regrets but I should have waited.:o