Electric guitar / amp?

Associate
Hi,

I've been playing acoustic for a while now (really loving it) and fancy trying an electric. Intersted in the american deluxe strats or possibly a deluxe tele.

Basically my question is - am I better spending big bucks on a deluxe strat and buying a cheepo(ish) amp or is the amp as important? Happy to spend ~1500 all in. Maybe get a standard american strat and a better amp? I'm clueless when it comes to amps so suggestions welcome.

Had a play of both a strat and a tele in a shop the other day - my first time with an electric guitar - awsome fun! (and OMG how much easier is a barre on an electric!) I Found I kept hitting the pickup selector on the strat when playing tho, anyone else get that?

EDIT: another option - as I'm new to electric buy cheep guitar and amp and upgrade later?

Cheers!

Last edited:
Soldato
Just my tuppence worth, but I think effects are equally important as the amp and one of the best things about an electric guitar over an acoustic. Consider a decent multi-FX box along with your other expenses.

Soldato
go for a decent amp first as it is 90% of the sound you will hear.

then spend a similar or slightly less amount on a decent stray or tele. however if your gonna spend this amount then make sure you know that your still going to be playing in years to come, otherwise it'll be a complete waste ;)

Soldato
£1500 is a good sum of money, as long as you're not buying a Gibson :p. In my opinion the Deluxe's aren't a lot better than the American Series; only in that they come with noiseless pickups and (I believe still) S1 switching for more sounds. The amp/guitar combination, will depend on what sort of sound you're looking for, what type of music you play, and where you play it. Since you don't appear to be wanting a pointy guitar, I will assume you're not into heavy metal or somesuch.