1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Erck Ram upgrade borking up

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Greenlizard0, 2 Feb 2006.

  1. Greenlizard0

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 15 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,189

    Location: Liverpool

    I have 512mb ram, and i bought an extra gig today. However when I plug the modules in windows get's as far as loading up to something called

    "/drivers/MUP ..." and then hangs everytime.

    When I took both of the ram modules out - windows booted fine again?

    Does anybody know what's going on?

    The Initial ram check was passed.
     
  2. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,289

    Have you tried the new memory on its own? Try 1 at a time. ALso which mobo are you using/What memory have you got?
     
  3. Greenlizard0

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 15 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,189

    Location: Liverpool

    I'm about to try the memory on it's own :)

    The motherboard is the Asus a7n8x-e Deluxe

    The ram is pc2700 cas 2.5 184 pins ddr1 ram:

    512mb samsung ram, 2x512mb geil ram.
     
  4. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,633

    I know some boards having problems using ram in all 3 slots (my Abit nf7 s v2 being one).
    Try each one at a time under memtest86, then try a combination of each, I'm guessing it will all work until you fill all three slots.
     
  5. Greenlizard0

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 15 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,189

    Location: Liverpool

    I ran mem test but it came back positive. Now my computer seems to work absolutly fine, but there's one thing i'm not sure of.

    I ran Everest Home Edition which detects all three modules, yet when I type in "mem" into command prompt it's only coming up with 512mb of ram? Does anybody have any ideas as to why this is?