1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Err.. this a bit too toasty?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by IamMed, 28 Jul 2006.

  1. IamMed

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,161

    Location: Porthcawl (S.Wales)

    Jus recieved my X1900XT and have fitted a Zalman VF900

    After 4 minutes of artifact scans the GPU temp is 87c, Temp chip is 58c and Voltage regulator is 93c

    Card is running default clocks and voltages afaik, thing is I cant see it having poor contact with heatsink as the heatsink is really hot :confused:
     
  2. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,028

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    have you got the fan speed at full?
    maybe it is just bad contact with the core, try reseating it see if that lowers the temp
    also how many case fans have you got?
     
  3. IamMed

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,161

    Location: Porthcawl (S.Wales)

    Full speed
    Heatsink is boiling so i wouldnt of thought its bad contact?
    4 Case fans but currently have door off anyway :-/
     
  4. Xez

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,024

    Location: Lincolnshire

    The VF900 isnt very good with the latest ATI cards :o it cant handle there heat output. The Artic Cooling Accelero X2 is apparently much better.
     
  5. IamMed

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,161

    Location: Porthcawl (S.Wales)

    Well I followed the overclocking guide for X1900's before I posted above and had my GPU voltage at 1.4v which is what it said was stock for 3d mode.

    Have dropped this to 1.3v and card is a lil cooler now, between 65-75c after an half hour of BF2 or an hour of artifact scans.

    Have core at 625 and mem at 750 and seems ok atm, these are pretty much its std clockspeeds though (mem on this saph is rated at 1.5ghz by them)

    Did get some artifacts when I tried enabling AA and AF on part of the screen however I think this was an issue with the CAT's that came with the card (6.2's), since installing latest ones I haven't had any.

    How many amps are these supposed to draw anyway? when it was at 1.4v it was sucking 30amps, now its at 1.3v its using 27amps under load, basic electrical principle would show that this meens the one card is drawing 360w @ 1.4v (volts x amps = watts) :eek:
     
    Last edited: 28 Jul 2006