Exercise ...Before dinner? ....or after dinner?

Soldato
Hi all,

What do you think is the right or better thing to do?

I am not a fitness expert or fanatic and I don't go to the gym

...all I am doing is going for a good fast paced walk for around 30-40 mins.

I try to do this every other day.

Would I better off doing this exercise before my main evening meal? ...or after my evening meal?

Thanks

Soldato
I don't think it'd matter when it comes to a walk like that.

I try and avoid running after a big meal as it can feel heavy on my stomach (although i do try and eat before a long run just so i have some energy), similarly with weights i assume you want to avoid eating after a meal as your body is then using energy processing the food rather than making it's focus performance.

Soldato
OP - useful info:

nutrient-timing-table_r4-01-1024x837.png

Soldato
I would say always before eating. I believe you burn more calories on an empty stomach anyway. You can then eat a well deserved meal.
A calorie is a unit of energy. The amount of calories burned doing a specific exercise can't change due to what you have or haven't eaten. What can change is where the energy comes from, there is a better chance of the body burning its fat stores if exercising fasted but there are other factors at play that effect this.
Personally I cant do very much without any fuel, feel flat and empty. In the OP's case though if its just a walk then I don't think it matters too much. That nutrient timing graphic above is pretty good :)

Soldato
If I’m eating before exercising, I try to do so at least 1 hour before, preferably more. This is because I typically feel a little tired afterwards, and find I don’t have as much energy for my workout :)

But I wouldn’t worry too much - just do whichever works for you.

Associate