1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Far Cry HDR issue

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Mundu, 23 Jan 2006.

  1. Mundu

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: SGC

    The other day this happened in Far Cry:
    [​IMG]

    What it looked like to me was the HDR effect had frozen in place so I restarted the game then it happened again so I reduced my clock by 5MHz and it was fine until today and this happened :
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Now I didn't think it could be my overclock as it's been fine in ATI Tool for 2+ hours and all games for the last 3 months. I'm thinking it's getting to hot as the fan is always dead quiet and last time I checked reached 79C under load.

    I'm going to run the 7800GTX at stock now and see what happens.

    If anyone has anymore advice it would be much apprieciated.

    AMD Asus A8N SLi
    AMD64 3700+@2.7GHz
    Freezer 64Pro
    Patriot 2GB PC3200 2-3-2-5 1T
    POV 7800GTX @ 490/1.30
    WD 250GB 16MB Cache
    NEC ND 4550
    E-MU 040
    Hiper Type R 580W
    Antec SLK 2500B
     
  2. Lfctony

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Nov 2005

    Posts: 18

    Delete the Farcry profile, that should fix it. Or try using HDR mode 2, it doesn't display those problems. Renaming the Farcry executable to something else will do the job as well, since the profile won't be applied.
     
  3. Mundu

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: SGC

    So this is a knowmn problem then? I thought I would of been okay scince everythinbg is set to application controlled.

    Changed it so I'll see how things go then.
     
  4. blackbull

    Associate

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 94

    Location: ashington, Northumberland

    How do you activate HDR in Far Cry, I have just downloaded the 1.3 patch. I have a X850XT.
     
  5. kinggost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Nottingham

    i get the same thing but when i turn hdr down a lil it lot less worse
     
  6. Mundu

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: SGC

    Bring up the console by pressing the "`" key and type in \r_hdrrendering 7
     
  7. blackbull

    Associate

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 94

    Location: ashington, Northumberland


    Thanks, will try that.
     
  8. ps3ud0

    Caporegime

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 27,601

    Location: Luton ;)

    Doesnt work on the X8** series - need a SM3.0 compliant GFX card as Farcry uses that path to produce the HDR effects...

    ps3ud0 :cool:
     
  9. Things change I've changed

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Jul 2005

    Posts: 12,164

    Location: The Orion Spur

    i think this is something to with the nvidia profiles, try renaming your farcry.exe to say, farcry1.exe and see if that helps, also I don't think hdr works with AA.
     
    Last edited: 24 Jan 2006
  10. blackbull

    Associate

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 94

    Location: ashington, Northumberland

    Thats what I thought, but I read this yesterday and this why I downloaded the v1.3 patch!!

    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=201&type=expert&pid=7

    this sentence is particularly pertinent.

    "The new Far Cry 1.3 patch finally brings the features that the 1.2 patch was supposed to give us. This includes support for SM3.0 for the NVIDIA 6800 and 6600 line of cards as well as the SM2.0b that ATI has enabled in their latest drivers."

    I will give a go anyway and see what difference it makes, Lost Coast looks great using SM2.0b, I was less impressed with Day of Defeat though.
     
    Last edited: 24 Jan 2006
  11. ps3ud0

    Caporegime

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 27,601

    Location: Luton ;)

    Cheers for the info - interesting...

    I have to admit Ive got the 1.32 patch installed IIRC and just didnt think to try and enable HDR, perhaps I might give it a go if I reinstall it...

    Looks like theres a 1.33 patch out now aswell - perhaps thats what Im after...

    ps3ud0 :cool:
     
  12. D.P.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 30,831


    You can't run HDR on that card, it doesn't support it. You will need a card that support SM3.0 and floating point blending like the Nvidia 7800/6800/6600 and ATI X1800/X1900.
     
  13. Blackmage

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Jun 2005

    Posts: 61

    Location: London

    have you tryed not using HDR? this will remove the problem.
     
  14. GAMEfreak

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 759

    Location: Newry, Northern ireland

    lol that defeats the point. he asked how to fix the problem, not avert it lol. thats like saying: my car has broken down, howdo i fix it?

    and you replying : " have you tried not using it?" lol.
     
  15. ps3ud0

    Caporegime

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 27,601

    Location: Luton ;)

    Not really - you could check to see if the issue is actually caused by HDR or not and take it from there - would have thought a farcry reinstall might be the quickest way to solve it...

    Best way to fix something is to identify the problem by trial and error - the simplest solution is usually the correct one ;)

    ps3ud0 :cool:
     
  16. Mundu

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: SGC

    I'll have to play some more but so far it's been fine.
     
  17. blackbull

    Associate

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 94

    Location: ashington, Northumberland

    D.P. I have just played Far Cry with HDR using SM2.0b on my X850XT. As stated in a previous post I made;

    "The new Far Cry 1.3 patch finally brings the features that the 1.2 patch was supposed to give us. This includes support for SM3.0 for the NVIDIA 6800 and 6600 line of cards as well as the SM2.0b that ATI has enabled in their latest drivers."

    Looks good too. Just make sure you have all your settings at their highest and it actually use HDR rendering by default. The only thing I have switched off is AA which at 1024 x 768 is not needed on my 17" CRT monitor.
     
    Last edited: 25 Jan 2006