1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Find the broken hard drive!

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by gtabomber, 2 May 2006.

  1. gtabomber

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Apr 2006

    Posts: 22

    Hi Guys!

    This is sorta following on from http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?p=6864562 .

    Ive got 4 Raptors in a Striped+Mirrored array and one drive keeps dropping out. Obviously knackered. Brand new too. Ill need to send it back to OC.

    Here is the tricky part...

    How can i find which of the 4 identical drives is nacked?

    Cheers guys!
     
  2. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    Ask Smids, he'll know!
     
  3. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    seems like the obvious answer to me...

    take each drive out, and run them on their own in a different pc... find out which one dies that way ;)
     
  4. jgreen726

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 May 2003

    Posts: 438

    Location: Portugal

    no way....

    I just came on here to search for some tips and found this thread!

    I have exactly the same issue, I have 2 in Raid 0.

    I tried running WD datalifeguard tools diag but it doesnt detect them properly for some reason.

    Any advise would also be nice

    Cheers :)
     
  5. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Surely the logical and sensible way to determine the faulty drive, would be to test each one?
     
  6. rpstewart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 11 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,745

    Location: Greenock, Scotland

    If it's RAID 1+0 then you should be able to pull any one disk out and it'll all keep going. You know the symptoms of a dodgy drive so can you not pull a drive, run with 3 for a while and if the symptoms recurr then the duffer is still in the PC. Put the drive you took out back in and pull another one, repeat until you run with three that work OK and the one which is out must be the dodgy one.

    EDIT: might be a pain in the rear if the system wants to rebuild every time you put a drive back in.

    Is there not a RAID monitoring doof in the mobo software?
     
    Last edited: 3 May 2006
  7. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Isn't there a utility that can tell you the state of your RAID array?

    What mobo have you got?
     
  8. gtabomber

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Apr 2006

    Posts: 22

    My mobo is a DFI LanParty NF4 SLI-DR EXPERT.

    Yes, the nvidia media shield software tells you that a hard drive has dropped. Thing is all the hard drives are the same model so you cant tell wich one.

    I cant stick the drives in another machine, nothing hanging around here has SATA. Probably wouldnt help anyways. Its intermittent.
     
  9. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    feel the harddrives when you are copying something, maybe the dead one isn't vibrating and the others are?
     
  10. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Haha, someone has found the fatal flaw in a RAID0+1 array. I too need to replace a very loud drive (I think unhealthily so because I have 3 others which don't make the same noise).

    In the nV specs, there is a light supposed to light up on the failed drive port however, I have not come across any manufacturer who implemented this - really good job there guys!! :rolleyes:

    Luckily for me, each array is in a different rack/caddy so I can narrow it down to two drives... I intentionally set it up this way so as to not have too much hassle.

    Monstermunch... I'm not a bottomless pit! :D :p.

    One thing though, if the drive is new, surely the one with the latest date code should be your first port of call...
     
  11. jgreen726

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 May 2003

    Posts: 438

    Location: Portugal

    Trouble ive got is that the drive only falls over occasionally, just got my mate to try thr DIAg TOOLS on his ARRAY and he get the same issue (which is that it seems the WD toold wont read SMART logs from their drives when they are in an array).

    Weird :confused:

    So im gonna wipe them and place them in one by one to get the SMART logs......
     
  12. gtabomber

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Apr 2006

    Posts: 22

    All baught from OC at the same time ;)

    I thaught about the very scientific way myself, the "feel if its vibrating" way. Cant be assed to do that though!
     
  13. ErNciLator

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,040

    cant you put them in on normal ide mode and download the vendors software? :D

    if not, gotta feel sorry for you, im glad im poor :D no mass arrays for me
     
  14. ChrisLX200

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,098

    Location: Macclesfield

    Well they'll be numbered according to the SATA connector it's plugged into. Drive 1 = SATA1 connector, and so on.
    Your array management software should indicate which drive is dead (say, drive 3... then just look at the drive on the No.3 SATA connector).

    I've only used a Promise ATA array but had a similar problem until it dawned on me this is how it works....
     
  15. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Of course that would work on most nf$ mobo's but not on a DFI who managed to have different labels in BIOS and on the board and in the RAID BIOS - how handy of them!!!

    And you can run the DIAG software from DOS, no? When in DOS, it doesn't matter about the array as usually it won't be seen.
     
  16. ChrisLX200

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,098

    Location: Macclesfield

    I don't know about DFI, but most mobbo RAID controllers attempt to load it's BIOS extentions at boot time so should list the drives it can see at least... The Promise BIOS let you know which drive was broke if it was offline at boot (Ctrl-F I think). but an intermittant failure is more difficult!
     
    Last edited: 4 May 2006
  17. gtabomber

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Apr 2006

    Posts: 22

    Yep, intermittent failure is more difficult!

    The nvidia array program is crap as far as drive identification is concerned!

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 14 May 2006
  18. ChrisLX200

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,098

    Location: Macclesfield

    That looks like SATA 4 (secondary master).... but then, I don't know what the DFI mobbo 'thinks' it is!
     
  19. gtabomber

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Apr 2006

    Posts: 22

    I might have found it.

    After rebuilding with a faulty drive my XP install is now fudged. Im running the windows install and it doesnt like doing a quick format, it fails.

    Ive laid the 4 hard drives out and im doing a full long winded format.

    3 drives are hot as hell. The other one is stone cold in comparison.

    Whats the chances that that is the duff one?
     
  20. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Seriously, stop messing around with guess work.

    Get the Western Digital Data Lifeguard Diagnostic and run it on every Raptor.

    Yeah, it might take about 30 minutes for each drive to complete thorough tests. But that's the price you pay for piece of mind.