1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Firewalls?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by chaosquall, 10 Mar 2010.

  1. chaosquall

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 308

    Location: Southend-On-Sea, Essex

    Does using a firewall slow my internet connection speed at all? i know it effect you cpu and ram usage, im talking about does it increase latancy?
     
  2. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 19,974

    Just turn the firewall on your router on. If you have a decent router they'll generally do the job, and obviously won't take any CPU/RAM on your PC.
     
  3. chaosquall

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 308

    Location: Southend-On-Sea, Essex

    i have no router, my modem is connected directly to my pc. I'm not worried about the ram usage / cpu usage i was just wondering if it would make browsing the internet / downloading/ping in games any slower? because the software has to first look at whats incoming then see if its good or bad. Am i right?
     
  4. JonJ678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Dec 2008

    Posts: 10,371

    Location: England

    I don't believe it looks at what the data is, just at where its coming from. As such the effect on latency should be close to zero, unless of course it blocks whatever you're trying to connect to.

    If ram/cpu usage isn't much of an issue, I quite like the idea of running ipcop in a virtual machine as a firewall, you feed all your network traffic through a linux distribution built for the purpose.
     
  5. weird_dave

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Mar 2007

    Posts: 1,047

  6. J.B

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Aug 2006

    Posts: 5,922

    Well it will effect you a bit, a tiny amount though.

    Treat your self to a router. It's a worth wild investment.
     
  7. chaosquall

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 308

    Location: Southend-On-Sea, Essex

    i dont know much about networking can some one link me to a router i use ethernet cables and am on a 20mbps fibre optic cable line. I dont need wireless
     
  8. Rocker

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Nov 2005

    Posts: 431

    Location: Scotland

    Software firewalls will provide much more security. Hardware firewalls, such as on your router etc. will provide protection against the average attack, however unless its somke fancy hardware firewall will not protect you against attacks such as HTTP Fake Antivirus Install Requests. Where as software firewalls will. I would recomend both, they will likely not slow down your connection by any noticable difference
     
  9. weird_dave

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Mar 2007

    Posts: 1,047

    How please?
     
  10. bigredshark

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Jun 2005

    Posts: 9,516

    Location: London Town!

    They won't. The pile of associated features they cram in the software might but it isn't a firewall as such, more correctly an IDP.
     
  11. bigredshark

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Jun 2005

    Posts: 9,516

    Location: London Town!

    So says conventional wisdom but I beg to differ these days, a regularly updated windows box isn't easily compromised at all these days (with windows firewall enabled even less so).

    We have a few hundred customers who insist on running windows servers on public IPs with no firewall (hardware or software) and I've yet to see one get hacked by way of an OS flaw (PHP exploits - yes, but not yet seen one due to an OS issue).

    While I don't really recommend running without a firewall I do challenge the consensus from shields up and the like that you'll be hacked in 30 seconds. It's just not true these days, there's no evidence for it.

    I do however, hate software firewalls myself, get a nice cheap router (maybe a linksys flashed with DDWRT) and be done with it if you're concerned. Otherwise turn on windows firewall, keep up to date with windows updates and don't worry too much...
     
  12. weird_dave

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Mar 2007

    Posts: 1,047

    Still best to check sheildsup, if any networking ports are open....
    I recall a friend installing XP, connecting to the web to update, getting owned by blaster in seconds :) OK, so maybe it's less of a problem these days, but why take the chance?