1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

flight sim x build any ideas guys

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by jimmyjam1234, 15 Mar 2010.

  1. jimmyjam1234

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 29

    Hi guys first of all I'd like to say what a fantastic site, this is my first post but I've been lurking for a few weeks now, as the title says I want to build a system to play flight sim well, my budget is 800 quid and I need everything including monitor any ideas?
     
  2. JW1993

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Dec 2009

    Posts: 861

    Location: Gateshead

    £800 for a system and monitor might be pushing it a bit. My system, the one in my signature, was £900 and thats without a monitor. It runs Flight Simulator X fairly smoothly, a bit of lag through stormy weather. But I guess the guys on here could find you something :)
     
  3. MonkeykingZX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 1,170

    Location: Cambridgeshire

    does everything mean you need an os aswell?
     
  4. jimmyjam1234

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 29

    Sorry I forgot to say I have windows 7
     
  5. jimmyjam1234

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 29

    any ideas welcome :)
     
  6. jimmyjam1234

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 29

    ok slightly over my first budget but what do you think of this system?


    *OVERCLOCKED* Intel Core i7 930 2.80GHz @ 4.00GHz /
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard
    / Corsair XMS3 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 (1600MHz) Tri-Channel DDR3 Bundle *
    (£469.35) £551.49

    Options applied to the above product:
    Titan TTC-NK85TZ Fenrir CPU Cooler (Socket 754/939/940/AM2/LGA775/LGA1366) £32.99
    (£28.08) £32.99
    (£28.08)
    Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card £124.98


    Dell IN2010N 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor Dell IN2010N 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor £99.99

    (£85.10)
    Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 700W Power Supply £84.99

    Antec 300 Three Hundred Ultimate Gaming Case - Black £42.99

    Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD502HJ) Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD502HJ) £41.99

    Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop 700 v2 (M7A-00027) Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop 700 v2 (M7A-00027) £23.49

    LG GH22LS50 22x DVD±RW SATA ReWriter Lightscribe Drive - OEM £20.99

    Akasa AK174CB-4BLB 120mm Blue LED Fan Akasa AK174CB-4BLB 120mm Blue LED Fan £8.89


    Total : £1,057.85
     
  7. kellaway225

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Mar 2010

    Posts: 783

    i would go with the Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache - OEM (HD103SJ)
    its only an extra £14-£15
     
  8. jimmyjam1234

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 29

    yeah good idea, hows the rest?
     
  9. kellaway225

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Mar 2010

    Posts: 783

    is lightscribe required? could knock like £5 off with a cheaper drive
    the rest seems okay but are you okay with going over £200 over budget?
     
  10. jimmyjam1234

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 29

    id of liked it less but from research flight sim likes between 3.8 - 4gig plus on the cpu to get the best from the game. so left me with little choice
     
  11. kellaway225

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Mar 2010

    Posts: 783

    okay cool, have you checked other cases? as that one looks a bit boring :)
    maybe look at a bigger monitor? 20inch is kinda very small :)
     
  12. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    I just build the following primarily for FSX. It had a faulty CPU so just finally got it back today. Running at stock speeds I got 50fps+ in FSX in level flight all sliders maxed.

    i5 750 bundle overclocked to 4GHz, 4GB RAM, Corsair H50 cooler, Gigabyte P55 UD5 mobo.

    Samsung 1TB F3 hard drive

    ATI 5850 gfx card

    Corsair 750W PSU

    Iiyama 27" screen

    Fractal Design R2 case.

    All in all about £1300! Bit over your budget but £300 of that is screen alone.
     
  13. kellaway225

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Mar 2010

    Posts: 783

    yeah very nice setup - i wish i had the space for a better monitor :(
     
  14. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    You could probably go for a cheaper PSU, a 5770 gfx card and a cheaper case to save some cash. The i5 bundle definitely is a good job.
     
  15. jimmyjam1234

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 29

    wow nice system dude, will maybe look at the i5 bundle then.
     
  16. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    It was £469 on THIS WEEK ONLY when I got it but its back up towards £500 now. Maybe wait and see if it gets reduced again. I went for the pre-oc'd bundle as I haven't a clue how to do it myself.

    I had a gfx card go back first of all, then the bundle went back, still same problems, and 5 weeks later I get it back today with CPU replaced. It worked so well at stock settings though but problem with the overclock. Finally looking forward to getting a stable system. Don't let that put you off though. I think it was just my bad luck with having to send three things back!
     
  17. jimmyjam1234

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 29

    does the graphics card still play a big part?
     
  18. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    I don't think it's as important as CPU power but I guess the 5770 should still cope fine. The 5850 was recommended to my elsewhere so I went for it. Will cost you a bit more though.
     
  19. kellaway225

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Mar 2010

    Posts: 783

    yeah my 5850 is about £110 more then your 5770
     
  20. Audigex

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,238

    5770 should be pretty much as good - FSX is fairly heavily CPU bound AFAIK.

    I'd think about taking a quick look at the equivalent PhenomII setup, and just see if it works out any cheaper: they tend to clock to 3.8-4.2gHz very easily, while being cheaper than their intel counterparts. You lose a little performance in encoding, but FSX should be about the same clock-for-clock.