1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Focus problem - Power loss / Speedo

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Liam, 5 Mar 2010.

  1. Liam

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,193

    Having a problem with my Focus, after about 5 minutes of driving it starts doing random things ;

    - Speedo drops to 0
    - When drops it loses power so if/when I have to stop (put the clutch down) it usually stalls

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks

    [​IMG]
     
  2. LEK-89

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,209

    Location: Leicester

    Speedo - possibly the speed sensor on its way out?

    Loss of power - spark plugs / HT leads or coil pack?

    Liam
     
  3. Liam

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,193

    Forgot to mention that they happen at the same time. The speedo drops and I lose power. When the speedo comes back to life, the power comes back...
     
  4. LEK-89

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,209

    Location: Leicester

    Does the speedo literally go to 0 almost instantly? Or does it go down slowly with the revs?

    Liam
     
  5. Liam

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,193

    Drops down instantly mate. Then, on occasion, it'll shoot up, down drop, shoot up ... kinda random.
     
  6. daveydave

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 May 2006

    Posts: 2,598

    Location: UK

    coil pack, map sensor, you need to start doing some trial and error.
     
  7. Morba

    Caporegime

    Joined: 7 Mar 2003

    Posts: 28,189

    Location: Krispy Kreme drive thru

    im sure this is pretty common, head over to ffoc and do a search, bet you find a few threads!
     
  8. Jotunkaiser

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Apr 2009

    Posts: 303

    Location: Liverpool

    No engine management warning light?
     
  9. sorn21

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,378

    Location: T.O.

    JanseyB will probably know the answer to this.

    It's happened a couple times to me, but not recently.

    Think it's something to do with the ECU and most dealerships will update the firmware iirc.
     
  10. LEK-89

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,209

    Location: Leicester

    Thinking about it, it does sound ECU related. Have you tried disconnecting the battery for around half an hour? Let the ECU reset and this could possibly cure the problem?

    Liam
     
  11. Liam

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,193

    No, but I will later on :) Come to think of it, it did happen after I got a new battery a few months back.
     
  12. Locky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Oct 2003

    Posts: 12,646

    Location: Leicestershire/Derbyshire

    my focus did this and it was the ECU, used to rev up on it's own as well.
     
  13. Liam

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,193

    Mine revs up too, usually when I change gear.

    I'll rip the battery off later and update :)
     
  14. dalin80

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Apr 2007

    Posts: 3,467

    Vehicle speed sensor, plugs into the top of the diff and is made from cheese.
     
  15. Conscript

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2004

    Posts: 9,849

    Location: Kent

    Yep. This is a definately a faulty VSS, common fault on the Mk1/.5 Focus. Part costs about £30 and can be replaced yourself, although it can be a pain to get to. Any good garage should be able to diagnose and fix it though.
     
  16. iaind

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 14,814

    Location: Exeter

    The speed sensor will feed information to the ECU so could feasibly cause a stall - that would be my first guess
     
  17. AtreuS

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Feb 2004

    Posts: 5,186

    Location: Sealed in my Sarcophagus.

    Same has happend to mine ( 2001 Y reg ) and its the speed sensor, getting it done on monday for £20 ( the mech owes me a favour as i fixed his pcs for nowt :p )
     
  18. AndyC

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Jul 2003

    Posts: 425

    This will be the speed senser mine did the same, the loss of power I guess would be the ecu failing over into a fail safe mode, as the others said about a £70 garage fix.
     
  19. markweatherill

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jun 2009

    Posts: 2,567

    Location: Bucks

    Doesn't the standard Ford radio have a volume control that's linked to vehicle speed, from the same sensor? If the radio volume does odd things at the same time as the other odd things, that's the speed sensor for sure.
     
  20. dalin80

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Apr 2007

    Posts: 3,467


    nope, at least not all.