1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Free application to change bitrate of wav file (down to 128kbps)

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by DJMK4, 9 Jun 2010.

  1. DJMK4

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2004

    Posts: 21,941

    Location: S.Wales

    Hi there,

    Now usually I use audicity for this sort of stuff however it seems to be failing me in this instance, I have some wav files that are in 32-bit format @ 705kbps bitrate, I need to lower these to 8-bit 128kbps to get them to work on our VoIP system as audio annoucements. Re-recording isnt an option as we payed for them to be pre-recorded a year ago, then I converted them a year ago with what I thought was Audicity, but it couldnt have been. I can only seem to reduce them to 8-bit 356kbps in audicity and no lower.

    Does anyone know where I can get an app where this will work without any hickups? or equally if anyone knows how to reduce it further in audicity, that would be good.

    Help greatly appriciated
     
    Last edited: 9 Jun 2010
  2. lord filbuster

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jul 2007

    Posts: 1,406

    As far as i can remember, the bitrate of wav is simply the sample rate in khz * bit depth * number of channels.
    So, if you want 128kbps, then you can either have 8 bit, 16khz sample rate and 1 channel, or 8bit 8khz sample rate stereo. I would suggest the former, an 8khz sample rate will sound awful, plus i don't think audacity can go that low.

    To save as 16khz and 8bit in audacity, simply take the mono track in audacity, set the sample rate to 16khz in the box next to the track, and then set the project sample rate at the bottom left of the screen to 16khz also. Then select export, and change the file type to other uncompressed files. Then click the options button and select header: microsoft wav and type: unsigned 8 bit wav.

    Then simply export it to wherever you want.
     
    Last edited: 9 Jun 2010
  3. DJMK4

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2004

    Posts: 21,941

    Location: S.Wales

    But if i do that, the recording comes out sloowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, like its changed the pitch
     
  4. lord filbuster

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jul 2007

    Posts: 1,406

    oops, sorry, only change the box in the bottom left of the screen labeled project rate, not the one to the left of the track. This will force audacity to resample it properly.
     
  5. DJMK4

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2004

    Posts: 21,941

    Location: S.Wales

    Dont worry, got it working :)

    Thanks