1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freezing PC

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by jamrowls, 2 Feb 2006.

  1. jamrowls

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2004

    Posts: 346

    Location: Milton Keynes

    My housemates PC keeps freezing, I though it would be heat so cleaned all the dust out and re greased the cpu. It still does it and at the time of freeze nothing is hot. Then I thought it may be a program...so I left it on the windows logon screen, it still does it. Any ideas?
     
  2. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,829

    Location: Glasgow

    When it freezes can you do anything at all or is it a complete lockup? You may want to try running a program such as either memtest or prime95(for the CPU) and see if they highlight any problems. You should possibly also check the PSU to make sure that isn't overloaded.

    If in doubt the best thing to do is strip down to basics and build back up from there until you reach the problem again and that should hopefully highlight it.
     
  3. jamrowls

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2004

    Posts: 346

    Location: Milton Keynes

    Its a complete lockup, the mouse does not move - same as I get on my laptop due to heat.
    Nothing has been changed before this started happening, so I guess some hardware is on the way out. Our pcs are different in every way so I cant do any swap tests.
     
  4. Larok

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 340

    Is he overclocking, check to bios settings and reset to stock. You could just try resetting the bios to stock anyway. Also what are the cpu temps etc.
     
  5. Ashcrapper

    Banned

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 315

    that sentence when read literally is totally insane
     
  6. jamrowls

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2004

    Posts: 346

    Location: Milton Keynes

    Its a she who has had the computer sat there working for a year or so and now it freezes, so everything is stock / standard settings etc.

    Ashcrapper, made me laugh reading it back :)
     
  7. Sputnik II

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2004

    Posts: 2,547

    Try to boot up with a Linux live CD. That will tell you if its hardware or a corrupt OS install. did you notice anything damaged on the motherboard like blown or leaking capacitors?

    Have you tried to start the machine in safe mode ?
     
    Last edited: 2 Feb 2006
  8. jamrowls

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2004

    Posts: 346

    Location: Milton Keynes

    It looks as if it was the OS, even when not logged in. Linux Live is very cool! I didnt know you could run an OS from a cd like that, anyway it ran for ages...booted back into windows and it froze in seconds. Thankyou :)