1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FS9 - For flight simmers

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by robmol, 14 Mar 2010.

  1. robmol

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,311

    Question for all you flight simmers on the forum, is it worth installing FS9? I used to fly regularly, but then got FSX which seemed to have a graphics glitch with my GFX card that couldnt be solved so I have been put off for the last 6months.

    Interested to know if there is still a mod community for FS9 and whether I can still use it online with vatsim etc. Wondering whether an AA glitch in FSX would also be in FS9 due to same engine too..

    Cheers
     
  2. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    FS9 is still widely used in the Fsim community. I think most people I know still use it on vatsim.

    What kind of gfx card had you issues with in FSX? It can be a pain to get going properly with it.
     
  3. Marky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Apr 2007

    Posts: 23,407

    Location: UK

    Isn't FX9 the same as FSX?? :/
     
  4. ThorpedoUK

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Sep 2009

    Posts: 839

  5. Gangster

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,241

    Location: London

    sorry dont mean to 'take over your thread' but does anyone know where theres a place to buy addons for this? Seems to be very hard to pin-point a site that sells addons for this game, freeware is ok but its hard to find high quality freeware aircraft for example.
     
  6. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    PMDG website is awesome place for payware aircraft. FSPilotShop is a good bet for addons.
     
  7. KatanaDV20

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Apr 2006

    Posts: 3,173

    Location: 3rd rock...

    FS9 is alive and well and the mods and addons for it number in the thousands if you take into account airplanes & scenery! However it age is showing - not a factor if you fly IFR but if you enjoy eye candy then yea its lookin old. But that doesnt mean you cant have it looking good. Using just freeware you can make it look brilliant actually.

    Interesting that you mention that you cannot use FSX because of an AA problem? AA is not being enabled? Even when you fly on fullscreen? What are your system specs? I would have another go at fixing it cuz FSX Acceleration really does look awesome :)
     
  8. Marky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Apr 2007

    Posts: 23,407

    Location: UK

    When everyone is saying FS9 - do you all mean FS 2004? Because I'm still pretty sure FS9 is FSX :p
     
  9. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    FS9 = FS2004
    FS10 = FSX
     
  10. picnic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2009

    Posts: 1,926

    If you're having GFX issues in FSX first thing to ensure is the DX10 preview mode is off.

    As ringo says FSX is FS10 and not FS9 which is otherwise known as FS2004 A Century of Flight
     
  11. Hank_Marvin

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,617

    Location: Norwich, England

    fsx and rex is very nice, need to get it all reinstalled.
     
  12. Gangster

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,241

    Location: London

    Thanks

    Any reason a new FSX hasn't been released? Didnt they used to be every few years??
     
  13. Kenai

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Apr 2009

    Posts: 21,104

    They closed down the FS development studio the beginning of last year IIRC.
     
  14. robmol

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,311

    I get serious shimmering going on, on the autogen and distant water with ATI 4850. I installed FS9 in the end and it seems to have the same problem:( Ive managed to reduce it slightly but it still annoys me hugely:p Might try a flight later on and see if i can get used to it.
     
  15. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    Same issues here actually. Smooth gameplay but terrible shimmering on the trees. Not sure how to fix it but will look on some of the forums.
     
  16. picnic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2009

    Posts: 1,926

    I vaguely remember MipBias in the FSX.CFG file may help here. It was a setting in FS9 and someone discovered it help in FSX too but I didn't think it helped my setup when I tried it some while ago.
     
  17. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

    I think that fix is only for nVidia cards when used along with clamping LOD Bias or whatever its called. I tried it the other night with my ATI card and no luck at all. In fact it looked worse than before.
     
  18. Gangster

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,241

    Location: London

    Saw your sig ringo747 and reminded me to ask, can you reccomend a Concorde add-on?
     
  19. ringo747

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 8,200

  20. picnic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2009

    Posts: 1,926

    Might explain why I didn't think it improved anything either then. I'm running ATI.