1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

FX57 steppings advice needed!

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Big.Wayne, 25 Feb 2006.

  1. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,690

    Location: London

    Hi all,

    I have an American chap who is keen to nab one of me Opteron 170 0550's from me, in return he is offering

    FX57 (0516WPMW)
    + £150.00

    Anyone know about this FX57 stepping? of course the yankee is saying to me that its the best stepping you can get! :p

    Any feedback appreciated, I'm new to this Internation Silicon trading and don't wanna get mugged off! :o
     
  2. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed

    i think week 16 are good ones.
    check over on xs would be best.
    not many people stick fx57's under phase/ln here to test them properly

    Tom
     
  3. Martynt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 16,086

    Location: Higher Walton

    Yeah week 16's are one of the good ones and arn't cold bugged. Though if your only using air i'd probably say stick with the 170 since its dual core
     
  4. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,544

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Good for about 3.1Ghz on air apparently.

    Jokester
     
  5. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,690

    Location: London

    thanks for prompt response guys! :)

    I have spare 170's so its not like Im giving up on the dual-core, but I'm just wondering if you think its a good trade?

    The cost of the 170 was £315, deduct the £150 means he is basically offering me the FX-57 for £165???

    So what you reckon that that FX-57 would be worth on auction ;)
     
  6. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,544

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Well looking in MM they go for £425-450 by the looks of things :D .

    Jokester
     
  7. Claw

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 402

    Location: North East

    Thats the same stepping as mine. It'll run at 3GHz just by upping the multiplyer, no extra voltage needed. I just leave it at that.

    It'll hit 3.1 with a small voltage increase and by dropping the mulitplyer and clarting about with the mem timings.

    I didn't know the stepping until i got it, but since doing searches for info, thats the week to go for. I just got lucky :)
     
  8. turbotoaster

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,194

    gave mine a bit of voltage and up the mutli to 16 and ran 3.2ghz for a bit on air, no probs
     
  9. wyatt gates

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jul 2003

    Posts: 1,912

    Location: Bracknell, Berks.

    i paid £410 more mine and it is one beast of an cpu :)
     
  10. S-H-A-N-E

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2006

    Posts: 191

    I have a FX57 , is it worth keeping or upgrading to FX60
     
  11. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    Depends what you're doing with your PC

    If you'll benefit from a dual core chip then yes, otherwise stick with the FX57. You'll only really see large benefits with multi-threaded applications or if you want to intensively multitask, like run an encoding application at the same time as a game
     
  12. S-H-A-N-E

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2006

    Posts: 191

    all i use my pc for is using Photoshop CS word & a few FPS games , i also live in Herne Bay not far from u :)
     
  13. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    Yeah - I know someone in Herne Bay too!

    Photoshop CS is multi-threaded so if you perform a lot of CPU intensive filter operations then you'll definitely benefit from a dual core CPU. There was a thread where a lot of people used a photoshop image filter and posted results so you could see what CPUs performed better than others. It looks like it's been pruned though

    I've saved the link to the table of results though - http://www.weescott.co.uk/ps_challenge.asp. This shows the benefits with dual core chips
     
  14. S-H-A-N-E

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2006

    Posts: 191

    I might get a upgrade , ive only had my FX57 since Aug last year , i will have to think about , do games run better in dual core ?
     
  15. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    Not on the whole. Quake IV and COD2 have dual core patches which give an increase in FPS and FEAR is said to have multi-threaded elements. Games don't really utilise dual core at the moment
     
  16. Dr Who

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 11 Nov 2004

    Posts: 8,148

    Location: Wiltshire

    Yes and no...

    Depends on whether they have a dual core patch, and how much load your sound, lan, USB controllers are putting on your first cpu core...

    Even without the dual core patch, if you are running a USB mouse and USB keyboard, you are likely to see more consistency of frame rates.. thats been my experience anyway...

    Where the DC really scores is in windows apps... you dont end up with a dog slow machine if you are unraring a huge file etc to the extent where you may as well walk away for a few minutes...

    :D