G-Sync on a FreeSync monitor query?

Man of Honour
Hi guys,

With the recent news that some or many FreeSync monitors now work with GTX GPUs, whether that's with Nvidia's certification or not, my question is this, how does the experience fare with a GTX card on a FreeSync monitor vs a GTX card on a G-Sync monitor?

My noggin is telling me that it wouldn't be as good but I've no experience so would love some input?

TIA :)

Last edited:
Man of Honour
Depends a lot on the monitor and what features are actually important or noticeable to you.

Some FreeSync monitors work better than others - G-Sync monitors generally have a wider refresh range where G-Sync is in effect (30-165+Hz) while quite a few FS monitors have ranges like 40-90Hz, etc.

G-Sync generally has better low framerate behaviour though in a lot of cases if you are dropping into those framerates a lot then you won't get a great experience with either - this can include things like some FreeSync monitors showing increased motion blur or noticeable changes in brightness at lower framerates as well as some differences in latency. (Adaptive sync misuses the monitors self-refresh capabilities to function which has some limitations when it comes to handling low framerates not present with the G-Sync FPGA).

G-Sync generally has better compatibility with applications that use variations of Windowed modes and other methods of non-exclusive fullscreen mode.

Some G-Sync monitors can have problems with the way nVidia does adaptive overdrive which might result in noticeable flicker or judder on bright content in video playback.

The average mainstream consumer would probably be hard pressed to tell between them on a monitor that supported either technology reasonably well.

Man of Honour
OP
@Rroff thanks, that's a good piece of insight.

I'm obviously considering a FS monitor as they are a lot cheaper, but if I'm going to run into troubles then it seems worth paying the extra.