1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

get me a price if ya can:) the challenge is on..

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Lex, 31 Jul 2006.

  1. Lex

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 972

    Location: NW London, United Kingdom

    anyone find me a good price on the following setup?

    p4 ht machine at least 2.8ghz
    1gb ram
    winxp pro
    ethernet card
    80gb hard disk
    cd rom drive.


    thats all i want for the cheapest price. anyone help me please! thanks so much if ya can!
     
  2. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,894

    Location: Tosche Station

    Intel Pentium 4 531 "LGA775 Prescott" 3.0GHz (800FSB) with HT Technology - Retail £49.95

    Samsung SpinPoint P HD080HJ 80GB SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-023-SA) £25.95

    OcUK Value 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel Kit (MY-004-OK) £53.95

    Samsung SH-C522C CD-ROM (Beige) - OEM (CD-071-SA) £8.15

    Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition inc. SP2 - OEM - 1Pk (E85-04026) (OS-002-MS) £81.95
    Subtotal £284.85
    VAT £49.85
    Total £334.70

    Not got a clue about motherboards or what sort of case you want, but any motherboard should come with onboard ethernet.
     
  3. Cuchulain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Dec 2004

    Posts: 7,627

    Location: Derry

    Do you need a case/screen/keyboard/mouse ?
     
  4. Lex

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 972

    Location: NW London, United Kingdom

    i dont need nothing more than what i stated originally however i didnt mention that yes i need a case. hopefully you can get all of that stuff from one place??
     
  5. Lex

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 972

    Location: NW London, United Kingdom

    infact. I dont want to have to build the pcs everytime that takes too long and increases the chance of an error. I want a bundle which is equivalent to the original posted spec. yes it must have a : case, motherboard and gfx and but doesnt have to be great as long as it can run the original spec without any problems.
     
  6. Begbie

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2004

    Posts: 24,828

    Location: ....

    have a look at the pre-built computers at ocuk!
     
  7. Cuchulain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Dec 2004

    Posts: 7,627

    Location: Derry

    Unfortunately the only place I recommend is a competitor, so I won't.
     
  8. Lex

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 972

    Location: NW London, United Kingdom

    as i finished typing that i figured thats the only thing i kinda guided you to mentioning so its all good i'll just keep browsing.
     
  9. comp builder

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 May 2006

    Posts: 711

    Location: stoke-on-trent

    Why dont you buy a cpu below 2.8GHZ (saving money) and overclock it, also whyy dont you have win xp home there aint much difference between that and win xp pro, is there????


    edit: soz i didnt read the whole post i thought you wanted to build one. I recommend you do because the pre-built ones for like £300-£400 the cpu on them has rubbish cache!!!
     
    Last edited: 31 Jul 2006
  10. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,894

    Location: Tosche Station

    Firstly you'll get slapped by the mods for saying that, so edit it.

    Secondly I think he's trying to sell them on to others, and selling pirated software is even worse than simply owning and using it.
     
  11. Lex

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 972

    Location: NW London, United Kingdom

    no lol im not trying to sell it on to others. basically i have a company and i have no real need for anything else but what i stated above. i put my machines in remote locations and connect to them to stream information. I need good processing speed and good memory. i also need around 80gig nothing less and nothing majorly more. i dont want to have to keeep 'building' computers all the while as i have many remote locations. i just wanted to see how much i should be paying for the above hardware spec.

    basically.
     
  12. comp builder

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 May 2006

    Posts: 711

    Location: stoke-on-trent

    o ok again i didnt read the whole post, also if microsoft sold their os for cheaper (which i am sure they can) then people would buy the real thing and not get a pirate one. (im not saying i have a pirate copy btw) and if he wants to sell the comps then wont he have to buy a new key for each comp because your not supposed to use the same one on more than one comp are you????