Getting back into it

Associate
Hey folks, I used to work as a junior SQL developer for a little under a year but that was now almost 7-8 years ago, to cut a long story short, I came from a very working class background and never had the opportunity to travel, so I decided to teach English for a few years, traveled to Australia etc to various degrees of success. However, as I approach my mid-30s, I want to settle down in this country, so I am exploring various options.

The issues I face are - I essentially did not finish my third year, as I had secured the above job because it was a inward move in the NHS, apart from doing my Dissertation, which is the reason I got a degree as I got a really high mark for it. I'm unaware, but if I got average marks, I'd have got a 2:1 or a first if I was really lucky. So every job I do, I'd have to explain this. Not to mention I was a glorified support officer at times due to NHS cutbacks at the time, so I'd be doing multiple jobs at once and sometimes my "junior developer" job was nothing of the sort.

The second issue is that, I have almost no portfolio, that includes my dissertation which was essentially sent into the void when Megaupload was shut down and my back ups were wiped on both my work servers and uni servers. Not only that, but the only coding I have done has been teaching others coding, which while I was able to remember a lot, I realised while teaching it, that quite a lot of it I had pretty much forgotten off hand.

My questions

What would I do in the next year to prepare myself and show that I can still work? Would a job in IT support help while I build a Github portfolio? I've considered the cyber security route too, it is something I'm interested in after taking an "ethical hacking" udemy course.