1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting lower fps then i should...

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Termineyter, 30 Nov 2018.

  1. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    Hey

    My setup is i7 4790k running at 4.6ghz with 1070 ti. Got 16 gb ddr3 1600 mhz. And my monitor is a lenovo y27g sync 144hz. Is it normal. Im only getting 90 fps Everything on low settings on battlefield 5?

    Thanks
     
  2. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    My mate is running a 4770 k and a 970 gtx and is getting over 120 fps ....
     
  3. MrRockliffe

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2014

    Posts: 3,439

    Location: Sunny Sussex

    What resolutions & exact settings (take a screenshot)?
     
  4. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    1080p Everything on low... anti aliasing off
    Everything off... pfftt
     
  5. oweneades

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jul 2005

    Posts: 9,002

    What happens if you set everything to high / Max (whatever it is called in BFV)?

    If the framerate doesn't really drop it could be an indication of a CPU bottleneck. If however it drops a corresponding amount (ie, what you would expect going from low to max) then something else if a foot.
     
  6. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    It drops to around 60 max.
     
  7. oweneades

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jul 2005

    Posts: 9,002

    Are you running an overlay like MSI Afterburner (I believe BFV may also have a built in version) which shows your CPU,GPU & RAM usage?

    If you are always pegged at 100% CPU but your GPU is never at 100% then again it could indicate a CPU bottleneck.

    I don't have BFV to test but I have read that it loves CPU threads.
     
  8. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 20,564

    Location: London

    There is a setting in the graphics options to set an fps cap.

    Make sure you set it to 144Hz (as you say you have a 144hz monitor).
     
  9. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    Hmmm..is there an easy way to know this?
     
  10. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    Ok. Ill try that when i get home...
     
  11. oweneades

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jul 2005

    Posts: 9,002

    Download MSI Afterburner, go into settings to enable the relevant features on the overlay and then start the game.
     
  12. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 20,564

    Location: London

    Other things to check.

    Nvidia control panel. Gsync on, vsync on (control panel only. Not in game)

    Also in windows check the resolution of the screen is set to (correct resolution and 144fps)
     
  13. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    Gpu is good. But CPU is fluctuating betern 30 and 50. Does this need to be stable?
     
  14. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    Capped it at 144hz. Still only around 80 . 90 max...
     
  15. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    Its around 80 when playing
     
  16. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 20,564

    Location: London

    What happens when you stick the settings to ultra?

    I notice your ram is 1600Mhz.... that's the only thing that stands out.

    Still think you should be OK on ultra settings tho.
     
  17. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    Its my gpu only running at 60 percent. I can run Everything on ultra at 90 fps... But i want 144 with lower quality. But my gpu wont give me his full potential
     
  18. Distracted

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Aug 2018

    Posts: 2,134

    Is future frame rendering disabled?

    Are you using dx12?

    These are the two settings i see cropping up when people have framerate issues.
     
  19. Termineyter

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2018

    Posts: 35

    Does not make much difference with that frame rendering
     
  20. Phixsator

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Oct 2012

    Posts: 3,707

    yes it is. BF5 release client will slam that poor i7 for no good reason really. One thing you can look into is disabling fullscreen optimizations(right click exe file ->properties-> compatibility tab) and then there is frame ahead rendering option(cant remember the exact name) in BF5 but that will introduce some input lag but it may not be noticable. I had the same issues with a 1080ti and my 4790k overclocked to 4.7ghz and tight timings on the ram.